Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

The performance for the TeV photon measurement of the LHCf upgraded detector using Gd2SiO5 (GSO) scintillators.

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 65
Poster Scintillating Detectors


Yuya Makino (Nagoya University (JP))


The Large Hadron Collider forward (LHCf) experiment is motivated to understand the hadronic interaction relevant to the cosmic-ray air shower development. LHCf is the only experiment which measure $\gamma$ and $\pi^{0}$ spectra in the very forward region ($\eta$>8.4), so called "zero-degree" region, at the LHC. The LHCf detectors were compact sampling and imaging calorimeter installed in the gaps of the pipes $\pm$140 m away from the interaction point 1. Since the energy flux is large in this region, the irradiation dose-rate of the calorimeter reaches 30 Gy/nb$^{-1}$ at 13 TeV collisions. Before starting Run 2, we have upgraded the detectors with GSO scintillator which is known as one of the most radiation-hard scintillators. Also we developed the shower imaging hodoscope layers with 1mm pitch GSO bars for the calorimeters. So far the performance for the $\gamma$-ray measurement has been confirmed in SPS. The energy resolution of 3 % and the position resolution of less than 200 $\mu$m were obtained using 50-250GeV of electron beams. On 10-13th June 2015, LHCf has completed the 13TeV operation successfully. We succeeded to measure the neutral particles, including TeV $\gamma$ and $\pi^{0}$, in the very forward region. The reconstructed $\pi^{0}$ mass resolution was 5%. In this paper we will focus on the performance of photon measurement such as linearity of the energy scale, photon-hadron separation, stability during the operation and so on.

Primary authors

Eugenio Berti (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Yuya Makino (Nagoya University (JP))


Alessia Tricomi (Universita e INFN, Catania (IT)) Alessio Tiberio (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Anne-Laure Perrot (CERN) Eri Matsubayashi (Nagoya University (JP)) Guido Castellini (Dipartimento di Fisica) Hiroaki Menjo (Nagoya University (JP)) Katsuaki Kasahara (Waseda University (JP)) Kenji Yoshida (Shibaura Institute of Technology (JP)) Kimiaki Masuda (STEL, Nagoya University) Lel D'Alessandro (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Lorenzo Bonechi (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Mana Ueno (Nagoya University) Marina Del Prete (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Massimo Bongi (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Maurice Haguenauer (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (CH)) Nobuyuki Sakurai (Nagoya University (JP)) Oscar Adriani (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Paolo Papini (INFN sezione di Firenze) Qidong Zhou (Nagoya University (JP)) Qidong Zhou (S) Raffaello Dalessandro (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Sergio Bruno Ricciarini (Universita e INFN, Firenze (IT)) Sergio Bruno Ricciarini (INFN) Shoji Torii (Waseda University (JP)) Tadahisa Tamura (Kanagawa University (JP)) Taiki Iwata (Waseda University (JP)) Takashi Sako (Nagoya University (JP)) Takuya Suzuki (Waseda University (JP)) William C Turner (Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory) Yasushi Muraki (Solar-Terrestrial Environment Laboratory, Nagoya University) Yasushi Muraki (STE-laboratory, Nagoya University (JP)) Yoshitaka Ito (Nagoya University (JP)) Yuki Shimizu (JAXA) Yutaka Matsubara (Nagoya University) Yuuki Okuno (Nagoya University)

Presentation materials