Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

SiPM and front-end electronics performance for Cherenkov Telescope Array camera development

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 99
Poster SiPM


Daniela Simone (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics)


In the last years many efforts in developing new technology related to Silicon Photomultipliers (SiPMs) have been done. These photosensors consist of an array of identical Avalanche Photodiodes operating in Geiger mode and connected in parallel to a single output.The Italian Institute of Nuclear Physics is involved in a R&D program in order to develop a SiPM-based camera that will be part of the Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA). In this framework tests on innovative devices suitable to detect Cherenkov light in the blue and near-UV wavelength region, the so called Near Ultra-Violet Silicon Photomultipliers (NUV SiPMs), are ongoing. Tests on photosensors produced by Fondazione Bruno Kessler (FBK) are revealing a promising behaviour in term of performance: low operating voltage, capability to detect very low intensity light down to single photon, high Photo Detection Efficiency in the range 390-410 nm. A campaign of test on SiPMs with several micro-cell size (40$\mu$m and 30$\mu$m) arranged in different geometrical structures have been performed to choose the best device for CTA requirements. In particular a comparison between technology of sensors characterized by a micro-cell of 40$\mu$m (NUV-SiPM) and 30$\mu$m (NUV-HD SiPM) arranged in a layout of 6$\times$6mm$^2$ pixel size in single configuration and in a matrix arrangement will be presented. In addition results on studies for the development of a front-end electronics optimized for the new NUV SiPM will be given.

Primary author

Daniela Simone (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics)


Elisabetta Bissaldi (INFN Bari) Francesco Giordano (INFN Bari; Dipartimento Interateneo di Fisica, Università e Politecnico di Bari) Giovanni Ambrosi (INFN Perugia) Maria Ionica (INFN Perugia) Riccardo Paoletti (University of Siena/INFN Pisa) Valerio Vagelli (INFN Perugia) nicola giglietto (INFN Bari; Dipartimento Interateneo di Fisica, Università e Politecnico di Bari)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.