Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

A new imaging atmospheric Cherenkov camera for the H.E.S.S. telescopes

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 7
Poster Astroparticle Detectors


Gianluca Giavitto (DESY)


The High Energy Stereoscopic System (H.E.S.S.) is an array of five imaging atmospheric Cherenkov telescopes (IACT) located in Namibia. Four of them started operations in 2003 and their cameras are currently undergoing an extensive upgrade, with the goals of reducing the system failure rate, reducing the dead time of the cameras and improving the overall performance of the array. The upgraded components include the readout and trigger electronics, the power, ventilation and pneumatics systems and the control and data acquisition software. New designs and technical solutions have been introduced: the upgraded readout electronics is based on the NECTAR analog memory chip, while the camera control subsystems are based on an FPGA coupled to an embedded ARM computer. The control and data acquisition software is based on C++ libraries such as Apache Thrift, ZMQ and Protocol buffers. These hardware and software solutions offer very good performance, robustness and flexibility. Upon completion, the upgrade will assure the continuous operation of H.E.S.S at its full sensitivity until and possibly beyond the advent of CTA. The present contribution describes the design, the testing and the performance of the new components of the H.E.S.S. camera upgrade.

Primary author


Albert Jahnke (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Kernphysik Heidelberg) Dr Arnim Balzer (GRAPPA) Axel Kretzschmann (DESY) Dr Berry Giebels (Ecole Polytechnique CNRS/IN2P3) Christian Stegmann (DESY) Prof. David Berge (GRAPPA) David Salek (Nikhef National institute for subatomic physics (NL)) Duncan Ross (University of Leicester) Emmanuel Moulin (CEA Saclay) Eric Delagnes (CEA/IRFU,Centre d'etude de Saclay Gif-sur-Yvette (FR)) Dr Francois Brun (CEA Saclay) Francois Toussnel (LPNHE) Prof. Gerard Fontaine (Ecole Polytechnique CNRS/IN2P3) Hartmut Lüdecke (DESY) Holger Leich (DESY) Jean-Francois Glicenstein (CEA Saclay) Prof. Jim Hinton (Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics) Julian Thornhill (University of Leicester) Marek Penno (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Marko Kossatz (DESY) Markus Schade (DESY) Mathieu de Naurois (CNRS) Dr Matthias Füßling (DESY) Pascal Manigot (Ecole Polytechnique CNRS/IN2P3) Patrick Nayman (LPNHE) Rachel Christiane Simoni (Universite Libre de Bruxelles (BE)) Stefan Klepser (DESY) Terry Ashton (Department of Physics and Astronomy, The University of Leicester) Thomas Chaminade (CEA Saclay) Thomas Schwab (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Kernphysik Heidelberg) Tobias Gräber (DESY) Valentin Lefranc (CEA Saclay) Vincent Marandon (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Kernphysik Heidelberg)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.