Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

A novel Silicon Photomultiplier with bulk integrated quench resistors - utilization in optical detection and tracking applications for particle physics

Feb 16, 2016, 4:30 PM
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Talk Semiconductor Detectors SiPM


Mr Stefan Petrovics (Semiconductor Laboratory of the Max-Planck Society)


Silicon Photomultipliers (SiPMs) are a promising candidate for replacing conventional photomultiplier tubes in many applications, thanks to ongoing developments and advances in their technology. A drawback of conventional SiPMs is their limited fill factor caused by the need for a high ohmic polysilicon quench resistor and its metal lines on the surface of the devices, which in turn limits the maximum photon detection efficiency. At the Semiconductor Laboratory of the Max-Planck Society (HLL) a novel detector concept was developed integrating the quench resistor directly into the silicon bulk of the device resulting in a free entrance window. The feasibility of the concept was already confirmed by simulations and extensive studies of first prototype productions. Recently SiPMs were also considered as an attractive alternative for tracking applications in vertex detectors. The requirements for a fast response, simple design and high fill factor can all be met by SiPMs. In addition the increased trigger probability for an avalanche by MIPs allows device operations at lower overbias voltages, resulting in decreased noise. The concept can be evolved further towards an imaging photo-detector. A new design for an application of these SiPM devices as vertex detectors with active quenching developed by HLL and DESY as well as first simulation results will be presented. Also, first measurements of the trigger efficiency as a function of the applied overbias voltage will be shown.

Primary author

Mr Stefan Petrovics (Semiconductor Laboratory of the Max-Planck Society)


Christian Reckleben (DESY) Felix Sefkow (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron Hamburg and Zeuthen (DE)) Florian Schopper (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Gerhard Schaller (MPG Semiconductor Laboratory) Inge Diehl (DESY) Jelena Ninkovic (MPG Halbleiterlabor) Karsten Hansen (DESY) Katja Krueger (Heidelberg) Laci Andricek (MPG Semiconductor Lab) Rainer Richter (Halbleiterlabor der MPG)

Presentation materials