Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Performance in electron beams of a tungsten-CeF3 prototype for radiation-resistant high-energy physics calorimetry

Feb 17, 2016, 10:15 AM
EI8 (Vienna University of Technology)


Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Talk Calorimeters Calorimeter


Riccardo Paramatti (INFN - Rome I)


The High-Luminosity phase of the Large Hadron Collider at CERN (HL-LHC) poses stringent requirements on calorimeter performance in terms of resolution, pileup resilience and radiation hardness. A tungsten-${CeF_{3}}$ sampling calorimeter is a possible option for the upgrade of current LHC detectors and for future HEP experiments. A prototype of the calorimeter has been built and exposed to high energy electrons at the CERN SPS H4 beam line. The performance of the prototype, read out with different types of wavelenght-shifting fibers, conventional clad plastic fibers and photo-luminescent radiation hard cerium-doped quartz fibers, will be shown in terms of energy resolution, uniformity and timing performance. A detailed simulation has been also developed in order to compare with data and to extrapolate to different configurations. Additional studies on the calorimeter and the R&D projects ongoing on the various components of the experimental setup will be also discussed.

Primary authors

Alessio Ghezzi (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Anna Vedda (Universita & INFN, Milano - Bicocca (IT)) Chiara Ilaria Rovelli (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Daniel Meister (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH)) Daniele Del Re (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Fabio Pellegrino (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Francesca Cavallari (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Francesca Nessi-Tedaldi (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH)) Francesco Micheli (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (ETH)) Francesco Pandolfi (ETH Zürich) Francesco Santanastasio (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Giovanni Organtini (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Giulia D'Imperio (Universita di Roma I 'La Sapienza'-Universita e INFN, Roma I) Giuseppe Della Ricca (University & INFN, Trieste) Guenther Dissertori (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH)) Ioan Dafinei (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) James Anthony Faulkner (Texas Tech University (US)) Luca Brianza (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Marcella Diemoz (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare Sezione di Roma 1) Mauro Donega (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH)) Mauro Fasoli (Universita & INFN, Milano - Bicocca (IT)) Myriam Schönenberger Nadia Pastrone (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Norberto Chiodini (Universita & INFN, Milano - Bicocca (IT)) Nural Akchurin (Texas Tech University (US)) Paolo Meridiani (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Pier Trapani (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Pietro Govoni (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Riccardo Paramatti (INFN - Rome I) Shahram Rahatlou (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Simone Gelli (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Simone Pigazzini (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Tommaso Tabarelli de Fatis (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Vieri Candelise (Universita e INFN, Trieste (IT)) Werner Lustermann (Eidgenoessische Tech. Hochschule Zuerich (CH))

Presentation materials