Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Vacuum-Compatible, Ultra-Low Material Budget Micro Vertex Detector of the Compressed Baryonic Matter Experiment at FAIR.

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 57
Poster Semiconductor Detectors


Dr Michal KOZIEL (Goethe University Frankfurt)


The Compressed Baryonic Matter Experiment (CBM) is one of the core experiments of the future FAIR facility at Darmstadt/Germany. The fixed-target experiment will explore the phase diagram of strongly interacting matter in the regime of high net baryon densities with numerous probes, among them open charm. The Micro Vertex Detector (MVD) will contribute to the secondary vertex determination on a 10 µm scale, background rejection in dielectron spectroscopy and reconstruction of weak decays. The detector comprises four stations placed at 5, 10, 15 and 20 cm downstream the target and inside vacuum. The stations are populated with highly-granular Monolithic Active Pixel Sensors implemented in the 0.18 μm Jazz/Tower CMOS process also used for STAR/ALICE trackers. The future sensors feature a spatial resolution of <5 μm, a non-ionizing radiation tolerance of >10$^{13}n_{eq}$/cm², an ionizing radiation tolerance of 3 Mrad and a readout speed of few 10 μs/frame. This paper focuses on the next and the last step before a final detector assembly, that is the precursor of the third CBM-MVD station. It is currently under construction, hosting 15 CMOS sensors. After integrating the device, our research will focus on a full characterization regarding vacuum compatibility and thermal management as well as aspects regarding metrology. Hence, we will report on the first results of the MVD precursor characterization and the lessons learned for the production phase.

Primary author

Dr Michal KOZIEL (Goethe University Frankfurt)


Dr Borislav Milanovic (Goethe University Frankfurt) Dr Christian Peter Muntz (Goethe University Frankfurt) Dr Dennis Doering (Goethe University Frankfurt) Dr Jan Michel (Goethe University Frankfurt) Prof. Joachim Stroth (Goethe University Frankfurt) Dr Michael Deveaux (Goethe University Frankfurt) Michael Gunter Wiebusch (Goethe University Frankfurt) Mr Norbert Bialas (Goethe University Frankfurt) Mr Philipp Klaus (Goethe University Frankfurt) Mr Roland Weirich (Goethe University Frankfurt) Dr Samir Amar-Youcef (Goethe University Frankfurt) Mr Tobias Hubertus Tischler (Goethe University Frankfurt)

Presentation materials