Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Application of a Transient-Current-Technique based on a Two-Photon-Absorption process to the characterization HV-CMOS, LGAD and irradiated PIN sensors

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 60
Poster Semiconductor Detectors


Marcos Fernandez Garcia (Universidad de Cantabria (ES))


Transient Current Techniques (TCT) based on laser-induced photo-currents produced by Single Photon Absorption (SPA) processes have been extensively used during the last two decades as a powerful tool to study many of the properties relevant to operation of semiconductor detectors. Very recently, an innovative Transient Current Technique was introduced where the free charge carriers are created in a Two-Photon-Absorption (TPA) process induced by a focused femto-second laser pulse with a wavelength of 1300nm. The fact that in a TPA process the absorption of the light depends on the square of the intensity of the light beam used for the current generation allows a localized TPA-induced electron-hole pair creation in a micrometric scale voxel centered on the laser waist. As a consequence, this new technique opens the possibility to carry out a 3D mapping of the sensor’s space-charge properties with micrometric resolution. Due to its intrinsic spatial resolution, the TPA-TCT technique should be a very appropriate choice for the characterization of the alterations of the sensor’s active (charge collecting) volume induced by radiation damage and especially for the case of partially depleted sensors as it is the case of the carrier collecting n-well implemented in HV-CMOS sensors. Likewise, the study of Low Gain Avalanche Detector (LGAD) is suited for the use of the TPA-TCT technique.

Primary author

Ivan Vila Alvarez (Universidad de Cantabria (ES))


Alvaro Diez Gonzalez-Pardo (CERN) David Moya Martin (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Francisco Rogelio Palomo Pinto (Universidad de Sevilla (ES)) Gregor Kramberger (Jozef Stefan Institute (SI)) Javier Gonzalez Sanchez (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Marcos Fernandez Garcia (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Michael Moll (CERN) Pablo De Castro Manzano (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Dr Raúl Montero Santos (UPV/EHU) Richard Jaramillo Echeverria (Universidad de Cantabria (ES)) Salvador Hidalgo Villena (Instituto de Microelectronica de Barcelona (ES))

Presentation materials