Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Upgrade of the CMS muon trigger system in the barrel region

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Board: 70
Poster Electronics


Dinyar Rabady (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT))


To continue triggering with the current performance in the LHC’s Run-2 the Level-1 Trigger of the Compact Muon Solenoid experiment will have to undergo a significant upgrade. One part of this upgrade is the reorganisation of the muon trigger path from a subsystem-centric view in which hits in the Drift Tubes (DT), the Cathode Strip Chambers (CSC), and the Resistive Plate Chambers (RPC) were treated separately in dedicated track-finding systems to one in which complementary detector systems for a given region (barrel, overlap, and endcap) are merged at the track-finding level. This in turn requires the development of a new system to sort as well as cancel-out the muon tracks found by each system. An overview will be given of the new Track-finder system for the barrel region, the Barrel Muon Track Finder (BMTF) as well as the cancel-out and sorting layer, the upgraded Global Muon Trigger (uGMT). Both the BMTF and uGMT will be implemented in a Xilinx Virtex-7 card utilizing the uTCA architecture. While the BMTF will improve on the proven and well-tested algorithms used in the Drift Tube Track Finder during Run-1, the uGMT is an almost complete re-development due to the re-organisation of the underlying systems from complementary track finders to regional track finders. Additionally the uGMT will calculate a muon’s isolation using energy information received from the calorimeter trigger. This information is added to the muon objects forwarded to the Global Trigger.

Primary authors

Dinyar Rabady (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Janos Ero (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT))


Claudia Wulz (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Costas Fountas (University of Ioannina (GR)) Evangelos Paradas (University of Ioannina (GR)) Giannis Flouris (University of Ioannina (GR)) Hannes Sakulin (CERN) Jonathan Fulcher (CERN) Joschka Lingemann (CERN) Manfred Jeitler (Austrian Academy of Sciences (AT)) Nikitas Loukas (University of Ioannina (GR)) Thomas Reis (CERN)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.