Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 15 – 19, 2016
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Construction and Test of New Precision Drift-Tube Chambers for ATLAS Muon Spectrometer Upgrades

Feb 17, 2016, 11:30 AM
EI9 (Vienna University of Technology)


Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Talk Gaseous Detectors Gas Detectors


Dr Hubert Kroha (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D)


The Monitored Drift Tube (MDT) chambers of the ATLAS muon spectrometer demonstrated that they provide very precise and robust tracking over large areas. Goals of ATLAS muon detector upgrades are to increase the acceptance for precision muon momentum measurement and triggering and to improve the rate capability of the muon chambers in the high-background regions when the LHC luminosity increases. Small-diameter Muon Drift Tube (sMDT) chambers have been developed for these purposes. With half the drift-tube diameter of the MDT chambers and otherwise unchanged operating parameters, sMDT chambers share the advantages with the MDTs, but have an order of magnitude higher rate capability and can be installed in detector regions where MDT chambers do not fit in. The chamber assembly methods have been optimized for mass production, reducing cost and construction time considerably and improving the the sense wire positioning accuracy to better than ten microns. The construction of twelve chambers for the feet regions of the ATLAS detector is currently in progress with the plan to install them in the winter shutdown 2016/17 of the LHC. Design and construction of the new sMDT chambers for ATLAS will be discussed as well as measurements of their precision and performance.

Primary authors

Felix Mueller (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Dr Hubert Kroha (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Korbinian Ralf Schmidt-Sommerfeld (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Markus Fras (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Dr Oliver Kortner (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik, Munich) Paul Philipp Gadow (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Robert Richter (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Sandra Kortner (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Sebastian Nowak (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D)

Presentation materials