Spåtind 2016 - Nordic Conference on Particle Physics

Skeikampen, Norway

Skeikampen, Norway

Hotellvegen 3, 2652 Svingvoll, Norway
Farid Ould-Saada (University of Oslo (NO)), Juska Pekkanen (University of Helsinki (FI)), Kimmo Tuominen (University of Helsinki), Mikko Voutilainen (University of Helsinki (FI)), Paula Eerola (University of Helsinki (FI)), Tuomas Lappi (University of Jyväskylä)

Cover photo


The 24th Nordic Particle Physics Meeting (Spåtind 2016) will take place at the Thon Hotel in Skeikampen (Norway), from Saturday, January 2 to Thursday, January 7, 2016. The program consists of lectures and overview presentations on some of the most topical subjects in particle physics. In addition, participants are invited to give contributed talks at the conference.

The lectures will include the following topics:

  • Dynamics of the early universe, Mark Hindmarsh (Sussex/ HIP)
  • Dark matter and its (in)direct detection, Stephen West (Holloway)
  • Particle physics phenomenology, Mads Frandsen (CP3, SDU)
  • High energy QCD and relativistic heavy ion colliders, Raju Venugopalan (BNL)
  • BSM physics at the LHC, Freya Blekman (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
  • Higgs physics, Wouter Verkerke (Nikhef)
  • Proton therapy, Sytze Brandenburg (Groningen)
  • ESS/n-nbar oscillations, David Milstead (Fysikum)

Registration and Contributions

Registration for the meeting starts on Friday Sept 11 2015 and will be closed on Tuesday Dec 15 2015. The registration form will be found from the menu on the left.

Deadline for abstracts for contributed talks is also Dec 15 2015. Abstract may be provided already at the time of registration or submitted later as plain text to spatind2016 [at] hip.fi.

Travel Arrangements

Bus transport is arranged from/to Oslo Airport Gardermoen on Saturday January 2 and Thursday January 7, 2016. There will be two buses seating 50 people each.

The first bus leaves Gardermoen on January 2nd after 2pm (when full), and the second bus leaves at 4pm. Don't miss this bus! On return, both buses leave Skeikampen at 8am and arrive to Gardermoen on January 7th before noon. Please plan your flights accordingly.


The prices for accommodation, including all meals, are 695 NOK per person per night in a double shared room and 845 NOK per person per night in a single room.  For kids under 12 years old the price is 390 NOK. Also family rooms are available.

Rooms reserved for the conference guests should be booked by the participants at skeikampen.booking3 [at] thonhotels.no mentioning the reference code Helsinki 2016. Our contact person Anne Beate Mosenget can be also reached at +4761285007. The hotel homepage is http://www.thonhotels.com/hotels/countrys/norway/skeikampen/thon-hotel-skeikampen/. Please book your room at Dec 1 2015 the latest.


Conference Fee

The conference fee is  120 € (euro). A reduced fee of 60 € due to discounted conference dinner will be collected for accompanying persons aged 15 to 17. The fee covers the transportation to and from the airport. Please add a note to the registration form when registering a person eligible to the reduced fee. No fee is collected for persons aged 14 and less.

Accompanying adults are subject to the full conference fee and the registration form should be filled normally by/for them. It is important that the form is filled for all the persons who wish to use the bus transportation from Oslo to Skeikampen and back.

You can pay the conference fee by making a bank transfer to Helsinki Institute of Physics, or in exceptional cases by cash at the conference. Please make sure to accompany the transfer with the correct message.

Bank account for transfers:

  • Helsingin yliopisto
  • Nordea Pankki Suomi Oyj
  • IBAN: FI23 1660 3000 0777 20
  • Message: H915/7915747


  • Akseli Rummukainen
  • Alexander Lincoln Read
  • Anders Huse Pedersen
  • Anders Kvellestad
  • Anders Lauvland
  • Andreas Heggelund
  • Anna Lipniacka
  • Anne-Marthe Hovda
  • Are Raklev
  • Are Traeet
  • Bengt Henrik Brusheim Johansson
  • Camilla Rönnqvist
  • Caterina Doglioni
  • Conor Fitzpatrick
  • Daniel Andreas Fink
  • Daniel Nielsen
  • David Milstead
  • Edgar Kellermann
  • Eirik Gramstad
  • Eli Bæverfjord Rye
  • Eva Hansen
  • Farid Ould-Saada
  • Freja Thoresen
  • Freya Blekman
  • Geert-Jan Besjes
  • Helga Holmestad
  • Heli Saarikoski
  • Henrik Sverre Limseth
  • Holger Bech Nielsen
  • Ida Pauline Buran
  • Ilkka Ollakka
  • Inga Strümke
  • Jaana Heikkilä
  • Jackie Grant
  • Jacob Bourjaily
  • James Catmore
  • James Monk
  • Jan Olav Eeg
  • Jarkko Peuron
  • Johannes Mønsted Sørensen
  • Jon Vegard Sparre
  • Jorien Helmink
  • Juska Pekkanen
  • Kari Rummukainen
  • Keijo Kajantie
  • Kimmo Tuominen
  • Knut Oddvar Høie Vadla
  • Lillian Smestad
  • Mads Toudal Frandsen
  • Magnar Kopangen Bugge
  • Magne Lauritzen
  • Maiken Pedersen
  • Maja Olvegård
  • Mari Røysheim
  • Mark Hindmarsh
  • Martin Ljunggren
  • Max Isacson
  • Mikael Mårtensson
  • Mike Lauge
  • Mikko Voutilainen
  • Nils-Erik Bomark
  • Ole Rohne
  • Olof Lundberg
  • Paula Eerola
  • Peter Hansen
  • Poul Damgaard
  • Raju Venugopalan
  • Richard Brenner
  • Roman Pasechnik
  • Ruth Pöttgen
  • Sameerah Jamal
  • Sami Nurmi
  • Samuel Baxter
  • Santeri Laurila
  • Sara Buur Svendsen
  • Simen Hellesund
  • steen hansen
  • stefania xella
  • Stephen West
  • Sytze Brandenburg
  • Tomas Gonzalo
  • Tomas Snellman
  • Tommi Alanne
  • Torsten Bringmann
  • Trine Poulsen
  • Trond Fredheim
  • Tuomas Lappi
  • Vanja Morisbak
  • Vera-Maria Enckell
  • Ville Vaskonen
  • Wouter Verkerke
  • Zongchang Yang