Helix Nebula 7th General Assembly

Klaus Tschira Auditorium (EMBL Advanced Training Centre, Heidelberg, Germany)

Klaus Tschira Auditorium

EMBL Advanced Training Centre, Heidelberg, Germany

Meyerhofstraße 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

The 7th Helix Nebula general assembly will be hosted by EMBL in Heidelberg on 19 -21 January 2016. The Helix Nebula initiative has come a long way since its creation in 2011. Driven by a strategic plan for scientific cloud computing, a series of flagship applications from diverse research communities have been deployed by a range of service providers.

A hybrid cloud model has been adopted and progressively expanded to combine commercial cloud service providers with public funded e-infrastructures and in-house resources. Key technical, financial, procurement, legal and governance issues have been tackled so that a European-scale cloud can grow with investments and benefits for stakeholders from the public and private sectors. Cloud computing, innovation and open science have become European priorities and now is the time to turn political will into functioning services.

Many stakeholder groups can contribute to this goal and so the theme of this Helix Nebula general assembly will be to converge on a model for the European open science cloud that can be widely accepted by research infrastructures and their user communities (from the public and private sectors) and value chains, the long tail of science, service providers and funding agencies.

Following a day of preparation sessions, a subsequent plenary will focus on how each group can contribute to make the European open science cloud work. The third day will provide an  opportunity to engage in a smaller group and conclude with a workable plan.

Attendance of the General Assembly sessions (19 and 21 January) is restricted to signatories of the Helix Nebula Initiative Non-Disclosure Agreement.

  • Achim Streit
  • Alexander Löw
  • Andreas Heiss
  • Andreas Petzold
  • Andrey Ustyuzhanin
  • Andy Gotz
  • Angelucci Filippo
  • Antje Keppler
  • Antoine Coetsier
  • Carmela Asero
  • Christof Bock
  • Coen Schrijvers
  • Daniel Field
  • Daniele Catteddu
  • Daniele Cesini
  • Dario Vianello
  • Davide Salomoni
  • Dr. Sebastian Ritz
  • Emmanuel MONDON
  • Ernesto Doelling
  • Frank Sullivan
  • Frederic Hemmer
  • Gianfranco Gargiulo
  • Gianluigi Zanetti
  • Giovanni Lamanna
  • Giuseppe La Rocca
  • Hans Berends
  • Ian Bird
  • James Mitchell
  • Jesus Rodríguez Álamo
  • Jill Christiaens
  • Joao Fernandes
  • Jochem Hummel
  • John Woodley
  • Jonathon Blake
  • Jonatán Felipe García
  • Jurry de la Mar
  • Kaspar Duetting
  • Konstantinos Papangelopoulos
  • Linda Strick
  • luciano gaido
  • Manuel Cendagorta-Galarza
  • Manuel Delfino Reznicek
  • Marc-Elian Begin
  • Mari Carmen Porto
  • Martin Gasthuber
  • Mary Barlow
  • Maryline Lengert
  • Maximilian Ahrens
  • Mehran Sarkarati
  • Mervi Lampinen
  • Michael (Mick) Symonds
  • Michael Kelly
  • Michael Wahlers
  • Nadine Nüsse
  • Najah Naffah
  • Paul Parsons
  • Philipp Tuertscher
  • Pierre Etienne Macchi
  • Rachida Amsaghrou
  • Regis BERGOT
  • Ricardo Correa
  • Roberto Sabatino
  • Rudolf Dimper
  • Rupert Lueck
  • Sergio Andreozzi
  • Steven Newhouse
  • Valentino Cavalli
  • vallois frederic
  • Wolfgang Lengert