Room XII (Palais des Nations)

Room XII

Palais des Nations

Palais des Nations 1211 Geneve
Against the background of the international community’s efforts to define a new development agenda, this one-day symposium co-hosted by the United Nations Office at Geneva and CERN, with the support of Switzerland and France in their capacity as the two CERN host states, will explore the value of the CERN model of cooperation in building trust across boundaries and strengthening the provision of global public goods in a rapidly-changing international context. The event will bring together policy makers, scientists and representatives of civil society in a new debate about how to build synergies across communities to move forward global objectives. The aim is to stimulate an innovative exchange that can help to shape more creative approaches and partnerships in addressing the challenges of today.
There is a live webcast for this event
  • Abha Phoboo
  • Alicia Garcia Torrico
  • Anne-Laure Perrot
  • Ava Kowlessar
  • Barbora Gulejova
  • Bertrand Nicquevert
  • Biliana Vassileva
  • Carbnez Pierre
  • Carlos Lourenco
  • Cesar Leos-Toro
  • Cesar Leos-Toro
  • Christelle Roy
  • Christian Fabjan
  • Christoph Schaefer
  • Christos Papasimos
  • Claire Adam Bourdarios
  • Claudia Sofia Pequeno Dias
  • Claudia Strabel
  • Daniel Dobos
  • Danilo Silva De Albuquerque
  • Drasko Draskovic
  • Els de Wolf
  • Erik van der Bij
  • Erwin Van Hove
  • Evangelia Dimovasili
  • Fatima Najeh
  • Fausto Maciariello
  • Frederick Bordry
  • Giorgio Lopez
  • Hans Peter Beck
  • Heather Gray
  • Hermine Wöhri
  • Ianna Osborne
  • Ines Knaepper
  • Ioannis Prapas
  • Juliana Gonsalves
  • Karol Krizka
  • Laurent Chevalier
  • Manja Vidic
  • Manjit Dosanjh
  • Markus Seidel
  • Mateusz Kowalski
  • Matt LeBlanc
  • Maurizio Biasini
  • mel zac
  • Michael Hauschild
  • Nathalie Gouriou
  • Nicholas Anthony De Porzio
  • Panagiotis Charitos
  • Roberto Castello
  • Roberto Rinaldesi
  • Samah Balouza
  • Silvia Schuh
  • Stefania Pandolfi
  • Suyog Shrestha
  • Thomas Taylor
  • Tomoko Muranaka
  • Wolfgang Lukas
  • Yuri Ermoline
  • Zhongliang Ren
  • Zoe Lawson
    • 09:15 09:30
      Conveners: Mr Michael Moller (UNOG), Prof. Rolf Heuer (CERN)
    • 09:30 10:00
      Keynote address
      Convener: Ms Micheline Calmy-Rey
    • 10:00 11:20
      Panel 1: The CERN Model, Science, Education, and Global Public Goods
      • 10:00
        Moderator 5m
        Speaker: H.E. Ms. Ambassador Elisabeth Laurin (French Mission)
      • 10:05
        Keynote speaker 15m
        Speaker: Prof. Sergio Bertolucci (CERN)
      • 10:20
        Panelists 1h
        Speakers: Dr Fabiola Gianotti (CERN), Dr Flavia Schlegel (UNESCO), Mr Frederic Hemmer (CERN), Prof. Herwig Schopper (WAAS), Dr Nigel Lockyer (FERMILAB)
    • 11:20 11:35
      Coffee break 15m
    • 11:35 13:00
      Panel 2: The United Nations and Public Goods
      • 11:35
        Moderator 5m
        Speaker: H.E. Ambassador Alexandre Fasel (Swiss Mission)
      • 11:40
        Keynote speaker 15m
        Speaker: Mr Jovan Kurbalija (DiploFoundation)
      • 11:55
        Panelists 1h 5m
        Speakers: Prof. Alberto Martinelli (ISSC), Ms Arancha Gonzalez (ITC), Prof. Cedric Dupont (GIIDS), Mr Frederic Bontems (MFA France), Dr Marie-Paul Kieny (WHO)
    • 13:00 14:30
      Lunch break 1h 30m
    • 14:30 15:45
      Panel 3: The United Nations Model and Sustainable Development
      • 14:30
        Moderator 5m
        Speaker: H.E. Ambassador Rytis Paulauskas (tbc) (Lithuanian Mission)
      • 14:35
        Keynote Speaker 15m
        Speaker: H.E. Ambassador Joon Oh (ECOSOC)
      • 14:50
        Panelists 55m
        Speakers: Ms Beris Gwynne (World Vision), Mr Gilbert Houngbo (ILO), Prof. Gordon McBean (ICSU), Prof. Liliana Andonova (GIIDS), Mrs Maria-Luisa Silva (UNDP)
    • 15:45 16:15
      Coffee break 30m
    • 16:15 17:30
      Panel 4: The CERN model and climate related issues
      • 16:15
        Moderator 5m
        Speaker: Dr Michel Spiro (FPS)
      • 16:20
        Keynote speaker 15m
        Speaker: Prof. Carlo Rubbia (CERN)
      • 16:35
        Panelists 55m
        Speakers: Prof. Armand Hatchuel (Ecole des MinesParisTech), Prof. Benjamin Coriat (Economist), Prof. Herve Le Treut (IPCC), Dr Michel Jarraud (WMO)
    • 17:30 18:00
      Concluding remarks
      Convener: Ms Edith Cresson