SSC Workshop: Preparing SSCs for EGI

IT Auditorium (CERN)

IT Auditorium


Geneva, Switzerland

THIS MEETING HAS BEEN CANCELED BECAUSE OF AN INSUFFICIENT NUMBER OF PARTICIPANTS. The meeting may be rescheduled for a later date either in December 2009 or January 2010. If so, the announcement will be made on the SSC preparation mailing list, through EGEE, and through EGI_DS.

The transition from the current European grid infrastructure based on projects to a unique European Grid Infrastructure requires significant changes in the way that the user community is organized and funded. Based on documents prepared by the EGI Design Study project (EGI_DS), users will be organized into Specific Support Clusters (SSCs). There are also proposals to organize support activities like training or application supporting support also into SSCs. In addition, interactions between EGI and commercial entities may also be managed through one or more SSCs.


Participation in this meeting is open. However, the meeting will be geared toward those looking to define, to create, and to organize an SSC for EGI. All participants must register for the meeting. If there are not 30 or more registrants by 9 October 2009, the meeting will be canceled. Registration will close on 27 October 2009.

Goals of the Meeting

  • Further define the borders between various projects and SSCs.
  • Determine what actions can be taken in the remainder of EGEE-III to facilitate the efficient start of SSCs.

Previous Meetings

Documents of Interest

Join Email List

To receive emails regarding this meeting and to participate in discussion of the SSC formation, you should join the email list To join this list, send an email to Charles Loomis (

Getting to the Venue

CERN is located on the French/Swiss border near Geneva, Switzerland. See the CERN web site for information on how to get to CERN.


Consult the list of hotels on the CERN web site.

  • cecile Germain-Renaud
  • Charles Loomis
  • Claudio Vuerli
  • Gabriel Zaquine
  • Gergely Sipos
  • Heinz Stockinger
  • Jamie Shiers
  • Marios Chatziangelou
  • Mariusz Sterzel
  • Marko Niinimaki
  • Massimo Lamanna
  • Milos Lokajicek
  • Monique Petitdidier
  • Neasan ONeill
  • Patricia Mendez Lorenzo
  • Torsten Antoni
    • 09:00 10:30
      Session 1
    • 10:30 11:00
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 11:00 12:30
      Session 2
    • 12:30 14:00
      Lunch 1h 30m
    • 14:00 15:30
      Session 3
    • 15:30 16:00
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 16:00 17:30
      Session 4