IWDMS2018 - International Workshop on Dark Matter and Stars

Anfiteatro Abreu Faro (Center for Astrophysics and Gravitation, Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon)

Anfiteatro Abreu Faro

Center for Astrophysics and Gravitation, Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon

Av. Rovisco Pais 1 1049-001 Lisboa, PORTUGAL

Stars scattered through the Milky Way and the Universe form a network of laboratories to test the nature of dark matter in unique and diverse conditions which are not within reach of dark matter experimental detectors. The high-quality data obtained from solar and astronomical observatories on Earth and space allows to use stars to study the nature of dark matter, and to put stringent constraints on their properties.

The goal of the international workshop on “Dark Matter and Stars” is to bring together scientists working across different research fields of stellar astrophysics and dark matter to discuss the current status and the future prospects of dark matter research. This meeting aims to discuss the recent advances in dark matter particle candidates, solar and stellar astrophysics, including helioseismology and asteroseismology, as well as compact astrophysical objects like neutron stars and white dwarfs. Moreover, we will also discuss the possibilities open by the next generation of stellar space observatories to the research in dark matter.

We seek to encourage dialogue between different research groups to enhance collaboration and help to improve our understanding of the dark matter. The workshop was also planned with the aim of introducing the dark matter research field to encourage attendance by young scientists including PhD students.

The meeting will be held at the Center for Astrophysics and Gravitation of the Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon, Portugal.



Oral presentations are by invitation only. The participants will be able to present posters during the workshop. The registration in the workshop is free. The number of participants is limited to ensure a manageable number of activities and create good opportunities for the participants to interact. The selection of the final participant list is the responsibility of the organising committee. The criteria to choose the participants is based on availability and also on the workshop goals, as described above.


Local Organizing Committee:

Ilídio Lopes (CENTRA, IST, Univ. of Lisbon)

José Vargas Lopes (CENTRA, IST, Univ. of Lisbon)

Violetta Sagun (CENTRA, IST, Univ. of Lisbon; BITP)

Secretary: Dulce Conceição


Scientific Committee:


Riccardo Catena (Chalmers Univ. of Techn.)

Ilídio Lopes (CENTRA, IST, Univ. of Lisbon)

Ana Mourão (CENTRA, IST, Univ. of Lisbon)

Amaro Rica da Silva (CENTRA, IST, Univ. of Lisbon)

José Sande Lemos (CENTRA, IST, Univ. of Lisbon)

Joseph Silk (Univ. of Sorb.; Johns Hopkins Univ.; Univ. of Oxford)


Invited Speakers:

Malcolm Fairbairn (King’s College London, London, UK)

Anne Green (University of Nottingham, Nottingham, UK)

Jordi Isern (Institute of Space Sciences, Barcelona, Spain)

Christoforos Kouvaris (University of Southern Denmark, Denmark)

Ángeles Pérez-García (Universidade de Salamanca, Spain)

Pearl Sandick (University of Utah, USA)

Aldo Serenelli (Institute of Space Sciences, Barcelona, Spain)

Pat Scott (Imperial College London, UK)

Laura Tolós (Institute of Space Sciences, Spain and ITP & FIAS, Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany)

Aaron Vincent (Queen’s University, Canada)

  • Aaron Vincent
  • Adrián Ayala
  • Aldo Serenelli
  • Amaro Silva
  • Ana Brito
  • Ana Mourão
  • Andrii Dashko
  • Anne Green
  • Anton Rudakovskyi
  • Beatriz Pereira
  • Bruno Silva
  • Carlos Frajuca
  • Christoforos kouvaris
  • Daria Dobrycheva
  • Denys Savchenko
  • Diogo Capelo
  • Diogo Ribeiro
  • Filipe Geraldo
  • Fiorella Burgio
  • Grigorios Panotopoulos
  • Hugo Terças
  • Ilídio Lopes
  • Jakub Jacek Malczewski
  • Jordi Isern
  • Joseph Silk
  • José Lopes
  • José Sande Lemos
  • Laura Tolos
  • M. Ángeles Pérez-García
  • Malcolm Fairbairn
  • Marcello Baldo
  • Maria Tantalo
  • Marina Cermeño
  • Miguel Ferreira
  • Miguel Zilhão
  • Mário Aires
  • Nadja Magalhães
  • Nelson Eiró
  • Nitin Shukla
  • Nuno M. Santos
  • Oleksii Ivanytskyi
  • Pat Scott
  • Pearl Sandick
  • Pedro Gomes
  • Pedro Pedrosa
  • Raghuveer Garani
  • Remo Garattini
  • Rodrigo Vicente
  • Santiago González-Gaitán
  • Sara Marques
  • Sara Peça
  • Sylvie Vauclair
  • Thomas Lacroix
  • Violetta Sagun
  • Vítor Cardoso