1 November 2018 to 19 December 2018
Europe/Zurich timezone

FASER: ForwArd Search ExpeRiment at the LHC

Not scheduled
Beyond the Standard Model at colliders (present and future)


FASER, the ForwArd Search ExpeRiment, is a proposed experiment dedicated to searching for light, extremely weakly-interacting particles at the LHC. Such particles may be produced in the LHC's high-energy collisions in large numbers in the far-forward region and then travel long distances through concrete and rock without interacting. They may then decay to visible particles in FASER, which is placed 480 m downstream of the ATLAS interaction point. In this work, we describe the FASER program. In its first stage, FASER is an extremely compact and inexpensive detector, sensitive to decays in a cylindrical region of radius R = 10 cm and length L = 1.5 m. FASER is planned to be constructed and installed in Long Shutdown 2 and will collect data during Run 3 of the 14 TeV LHC from 2021-23. If FASER is successful, FASER 2, a much larger successor with roughly R ~ 1 m and L ~ 5 m, could be constructed in Long Shutdown 3 and collect data during the HL-LHC era from 2026-35. FASER and FASER 2 have the potential to discover dark photons, dark Higgs bosons, heavy neutral leptons, axion-like particles, and many other long-lived particles, as well as provide new information about neutrinos, with potentially far-ranging implications for particle physics and cosmology. We describe the current status, anticipated challenges, and discovery prospects of the FASER program.

Primary authors

Aaron Soffa (University of California, Irvine) Dr Akitaka Ariga (Universitaet Bern (CH)) Anna Sfyrla (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Brian Petersen (CERN) Dave Casper (University of California Irvine (US)) Didier Ferrere (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Enrique Kajomovitz Must (Department of Physics) Eric Torrence (University of Oregon (US)) Felix Kling (University of California, Irvine) Frank Raphael Cadoux (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Gang Zhang (Tsinghua University (CN)) Giuseppe Iacobucci (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Hidetoshi Otono (Kyushu University (JP)) Iftah Galon (Rutgers University) Jamie Boyd (CERN) Jonathan Lee Feng (University of California Irvine (US)) Jordan Smolinsky (UC Irvine) Lorne Levinson (Weizmann Institute of Science (IL)) Matthias Schott (CERN / University of Mainz) Osamu Sato (Nagoya University (JP)) Sebastian Trojanowski (National Centre for Nuclear Research) Sergio Gonzalez Sevilla (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Shih-Chieh Hsu (University of Washington Seattle (US)) Susanne Kuehn (CERN) Tomoko Ariga (Kyushu University) Yannick Favre (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Yosuke Takubo (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (JP))

Presentation Materials