1 November 2018 to 19 December 2018
Europe/Zurich timezone

nuSTORM at CERN: Executive Summary

Not scheduled
Neutrino physics (accelerator and non-accelerator)


The Neutrinos from Stored Muons, nuSTORM, facility has been designed to deliver a definitive neutrino-nucleus scattering programme using beams of (anti-)electron and (anti-)muon neutinos from the decay of muons confined within a storage ring. The facility is unique, it will be capable of storing muon beams with a central momentum of between 1 GeV/c and 6 GeV/c and a momentum spread of 16\%. This specification will allow neutrino-scattering measurements to be made over the kinematic range of interest to the DUNE and Hyper-K collaborations. At nuSTORM, the flavour composition of the beam and the neutrino-energy spectrum are both precisely known. The storage-ring instrumentation will allow the neutrino flux to be determined to a precision of 1% or better. By exploiting sophisticated neutrino-detector techniques such as those being developed for the near detectors of DUNE and Hyper-K, the nuSTORM facility will:

  • Serve the future long- and short-baseline neutrino-oscillation
    programmes by providing definitive measurements of
    electron-neutrino-nucleus and muon-neutrino-nucleus scattering
    cross-sections with percent-level precision;
  • Provide a probe that is 100\% polarised and sensitive to isospin to
    allow incisive studies of nuclear dynamics and collective effects in
  • Deliver the capability to extend the search for light sterile
    neutrinos beyond the sensitivities that will be provided by the FNAL
    Short Baseline Neutrino (SBN) programme; and
  • Create an essential test facility for the development of muon
    accelerators to serve as the basis of a multi-TeV lepton-antilepton

To maximise its impact, nuSTORM should be implemented such that data-taking begins by ~2027/28 when the DUNE and Hyper-K collaborations will each be accumulating data sets capable of determining oscillation probabilities with percent-level precision.

With its existing proton-beam infrastructure, CERN is uniquely well-placed to implement nuSTORM. The feasibility of implementing nuSTORM at CERN has been studied by a CERN Physics Beyond Colliders study group. The muon storage ring has been optimised for the neutrino-scattering programme to store muon beams with momenta in the range 1 GeV to 6 GeV. The implementation of nuSTORM exploits the existing fast-extraction from the SPS that delivers beam to the LHC and to HiRadMat. A summary of the proposed implementation of nuSTORM at CERN is presented below. An indicative cost estimate and a preliminary discussion of a possible time-line for the implementation of nuSTORM are presented the addendum.

Primary authors

Srubabati Goswami (physical research laboratory) Frank Filthaut (Radboud University and Nikhef, Nijmegen (NL)) Jingyu Tang (Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS) Paul Kyberd (Departm.of Physics(QMW-Coll.)) Dr David Smith (Brunel University London) Melissa Anne Uchida (Imperial College (GB)) Daniel Kaplan (Illinois Institute of Technology) Pavel Snopok (IIT/Fermilab) Matheus Hostert (Durham University) Silvia Pascoli (University of Durham (GB)) Steve Brice (Fermilab) Alan Bross (Fermilab) Sandor Feher (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Nikolai Mokhov (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Jorge G. Morfin (Fermilab) David Neuffer Stephen Parke (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Dr Milorad Popovic (FNAL) Paul Michael Rubinov (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Sergei Striganov (Fermilab) Claudia Christina Ahdida Wolfgang Bartmann (CERN) Jeremie Bauche (CERN) Marco Calviani (CERN) Jonathan Gall (CERN) Brennan Goddard (CERN) Christoph Hessler (CERN) Joachim Kopp (Max Planck Institut für Kernphysik, Heidelberg, Germany) Mike Lamont (CERN) Albert De Roeck (CERN) Francesco Maria Velotti (CERN) Alain Blondel (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Etam Noah Messomo (Geneva university) Prof. Federico Sanchez (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Juan Jose Gomez Cadenas (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Ulrich Mosel (Universitaet Giessen) Ryan Bayes (University of Glasgow) Sven-Patrik Hallsjo (University of Glasgow (GB)) Paul Soler Jermyn (University of Glasgow (GB)) Dr H.M. O'Keefe (Lancaster) Laura Kormos (Lancaster University) Jaroslaw Nowak (Lancaster University) Peter Ratoff (Lancaster University) David Colling (Imperial College (GB)) Peter Dornan (Imperial College (GB)) Patrick James Dunne (Imperial College (GB)) Dr Per M Jonsson (Imperial College London) Mr Paul Jurj (Imperial College London) Ajit Kurup Phillip Litchfield (Imperial College, London) Kenneth Richard Long (Imperial College (GB)) Toby Nonnenmacher (Imperial College London) Jaroslaw Pasternak (Imperial College, London) Mark Scott (Imperial College, London) Julia Sedgbeer (Imperial College) Wilf Shorrock (Imperial College (GB)) Morgan Wascko (Imperial College (GB)) Yoshi Uchida (Imperial College London) Francesca Di Lodovico (University of London (GB)) Ryan James Nichol (UCL) S. Alex Bogacz (Jefferson Lab) Prof. Yoshi Mori (Kyoto) Neil Kevin Mccauley Christos Touramanis (University of Liverpool (GB)) Jacobo Lopez Pavon (CERN) Dr Robert Barrie Appleby (University of Manchester (GB)) Sam Tygier Mr Hirohisa A. Tanaka (SLAC/Stanford University) Maurizio Bonesini (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Andre De Gouvea (Northwestern University) Yoshitaka Kuno (Osaka University) Dr Akira Sato (Osaka) Dr S.K. Argawalla (Bhubaneswar) Walter Winter (DESY) Kendall Mahn (MSU) David Wark (CERN) Prof. Alfons Weber (University of Oxford (GB)) Lucien Cremaldi (University of Mississippi (US)) Prof. Donald Summers (Mississippi) Luca Stanco (Universita e INFN, Padova (IT)) Kirk McDonald (Princeton University) Gail Hanson Domizia Orestano (Universita e INFN Roma Tre (IT)) Ludovico Tortora (Universita e INFN Roma Tre (IT)) Dr Jean-baptiste Lagrange (Imperial College) Bill Murray (University of Warwick (GB)) Chris Rogers (STFC) Rob Edgecock Jose Angel Hernando Morata (Universidade de Santiago) Chris Booth (University of Sheffield (GB)) Prof. Sanjib Mishra (University of South Carolina) Sampa Bhadra Luis Alvarez-Ruso Anselmo Cervera Villanueva (Univ. of Valencia and CSIC (ES)) Andrea Donini (CSIC) Tapasi Ghosh (IFIC, Valencia) Prof. Pilar Hernandez Alexander Izmaylov Andrew Laing (University of Glasgow) Olga Mena (IFIC) Michel Sorel (IFIC) Panagiotis Stamoulis (Universitat de Valencia) Moses Chung Mark Hartz Dr Mark Palmer (BNL) Patrick Huber Prof. Jonathan Link (Virginia Tech) Camillo Mariani (Virginia Poly. Inst. & State Univ. (US)) Dr Vishvas Pandey (Virginia Poly. Inst. & State Univ. (US)) John James Back (University of Warwick (GB)) Gary Barker (University of Warwick (GB)) Steven Boyd (University of Warwick) Dr Paolo Franchini (University of Warwick - MICE) Paul Fraser Harrison (University of Warwick (GB)) Jan Sobczyk (Wroclaw University)

Presentation Materials