November 1, 2018 to December 19, 2018
Europe/Zurich timezone

The physics potential of HE-LHC

Not scheduled
Beyond the Standard Model at colliders (present and future)


This document summarizes the physics potential of the High-Energy LHC (HE-LHC), under consideration as a possible future project at CERN. The HE-LHC is a 27 TeV pp collider, to be installed in the LHC tunnel, relying on the 16 T magnet technology being developed for the 100 TeV Future Circular Collider (FCC-hh). The HE-LHC is designed to deliver 10-15 ab$^{-1}$ of integrated luminosity to two general purpose detectors, during 20 years of operation. As for the LHC, the facility could host a dedicated interaction point focused on flavour physics, delivering 3 ab$^{-1}$ of integrated luminosity to an upgraded LHCb detector, and would continue the programme of heavy ion collisions. The results presented here were obtained in the context of the Workshop on ``The physics of HL-LHC, and perspectives on HE-LHC'', which ran for over a year after its kick-off meeting on 30 October -- 1 November 2017. These studies complemented those focused on the engineering and technological aspects of the project, performed in the context of the FCC conceptual design report (CDR) for the HE-LHC, and documented elsewhere.

The activity has been carried out by five working groups (WGs): Standard Model (WG1), Higgs (WG2), Beyond the Standard Model (WG3), Flavour (WG4) and QCD matter at high density (WG5). The reports from the WGs, extending this executive summary with much more detail and many more results, are available on the CERN Document Server, and will appear on arXiv. The documents describing in full detail the HL-LHC and HE-LHC studies performed by the ATLAS and CMS Collaborations will be available in early 2019.

Primary authors

Andrea Dainese (INFN - Padova (IT)) Michelangelo Mangano (CERN) Andreas Meyer (DESY (DE)) Aleandro Nisati (Sapienza Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Gavin Salam (CERN) Mika Anton Vesterinen (University of Warwick (GB)) Patrizia Azzi (INFN Padova (IT)) Stephen Farry (University of Liverpool (GB)) Paolo Nason (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Alessandro Tricoli (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US)) Dieter Zeppenfeld Maria Cepeda Hermida (Centro de Investigaciones Energéti cas Medioambientales y Tecno) Stefania Gori (Perimeter Institute/Cincinnati University) Philip Ilten (University of Birmingham (GB)) Marumi Kado (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Francesco Riva (Universite de Geneve (CH)) Xabier Cid Vidal (Instituto Galego de Física de Altas Enerxías) Monica D'Onofrio (University of Liverpool (GB)) Patrick James Fox (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Riccardo Torre (CERN) Keith Ulmer (University of Colorado, Boulder (US)) Alex Cerri (University of Sussex (GB)) V. V. Gligorov (LPNHE) Sandra Malvezzi (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Jorge Martin Camalich (Inst. Astrophys. of Canary Islands (ES)) Jure Zupan (University of Cincinnati) Zvi Citron (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (IL)) Jan Fiete Grosse-Oetringhaus (CERN) John Jowett (CERN) Yen-Jie Lee (Massachusetts Inst. of Technology (US)) Urs Wiedemann (CERN) Michael Andreas Winn (Université Paris-Saclay (FR))

Presentation materials