40 years SPS NA Physics Celebration

500/1-001 - Main Auditorium (CERN)

500/1-001 - Main Auditorium


Show room on map
Markus Brugger (CERN) , Augusto Ceccucci (CERN) , Lau Gatignon (CERN) , Gerhard Mallot (CERN)

Fixed-target experiments have a long history at CERN, forming essential building blocks in the physics landscape, in parallel to collider facilities. Notable among them are those fed by the Super Proton Synchrotron (SPS), which has provided a steady stream of high-energy proton beams to the North Area at the Prévessin site, feeding a wide variety of experiments, over 40 years. The first physics publication from an experiment in the North Area – a measurement of the production rate of muon pairs by quark–antiquark annihilation – was published in 1979 by the NA3 experiment. As the North Area marks 40 years since its first physics result, this symposium celebrates this hub of experiments large and small, lively and productive, able to quickly evolve and adapt to address the compelling questions of the day and of the future.

Registration and request for access card
    • 14:15 14:20
      Welcome 5m
      Speaker: Fabiola Gianotti (CERN)
    • 14:20 15:40
      Past Physics & Experiments
      Convener: Augusto Ceccucci (CERN)
      • 14:20
        Hard scattering and charm studies in hadro and photoproduction in CERN experimental North Areas 20m
        Speaker: Daniel Treille (CERN)
      • 14:40
        Probing nucleon structure with high-energy muons 20m
        Speaker: Dietrich Graf Von Harrach (Johannes Gutenberg-Universitat)
      • 15:00
        CP-Violation and Kaon Rare Decays 20m
        Speaker: Cristina Lazzeroni (University of Birmingham (GB))
      • 15:20
        Heavy Ion Physics at the CERN SPS 20m
        Speaker: Marek Gazdzicki (Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Univ. (DE))
    • 15:40 16:00
    • 16:00 16:40
      The vision for the future
      Conveners: Christoph Rembser (CERN) , Jordan Nash (Monash University)
    • 16:40 17:30
      Round Table
      Convener: Matthew Chalmers (CERN)
      • 16:40
        round table 50m
        Speakers: Claude Vallee (Centre de Physique des Particules de Marseille) , Gaia Lanfranchi (INFN e Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (IT)) , John Dainton (The Cockcroft Institute) , Lyn Evans (Imperial College (GB)) , Niels Doble (INFN Sezione di Pisa, Universita' e Scuola Normale Superiore, P) , Prof. Terry Sloan (Emeritus Professor)
    • 17:30 18:30