ASP2020 Student Selection Committee Meeting

Abdesslam Arhrib (U), Ketevi Adikle Assamagan (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US))



Present: Abdesslam, Bobby, Farida, Ulrich, Nadeem, Gopolang, Julia, and Kétévi.


We reviewed the current status of the student selections. There were good progress from each sub-committee. Here are a few action items toward convergence:


a) Sub-committee 1. Recommendation to take a look at the Nigerian candidates from the ICTP Center in Rwanda (EAIFR) and select a few good ones, instead of all residing in Nigeria. This is necessary considering the significant support from the ICTP.


b) Sub-committee 2. Review in progress with strong candidates from Benin, Botswana, Congo, Cameroon and Madagascar. Once finalized, we will see how some of these students compare to others before converging on the final list.


c) Sub-committee 3. The selection is finalized; the issue here is about the additional students from Algeria. These are good but need extra funds to be selected. Farida will contact these students and advise them to seek funding from their institutes.


d) Sub-committee 4. The preliminary selection has 5 Egyptians and 1 Ethiopian. There is 1 relatively good candidate from Chad (a country classified by the UN as least developed). The options are to drop 1 Egyptian in favor of the student from Chad or to keep all the Egyptians and add the student from Chad. Ultimately, we might settle for the 2nd option given Egypt's efforts in nuclear and particle physics.


e) Sub-committee 5. The selection is complete. Nothing to follow up on.


6) Sub-committee 6. Action: take a look at the Tunisian students and select 1 or 2 in addition of the 4 already selected. Then, identify 2-4 other Tunisians: we will discuss with Tunisian colleagues if Tunisia would cover some or all of these extra students. There is a candidate from Uganda at the EAIFR in Rwanda; he is currently on the waiting list. Bobby will inquire further about him and we will review his case for acceptance.


7) Sub-committee 7, the Moroccan students: An ordered list in the average scores is made. When the LOC knows how many we should take, then will have further discussions to select that sub-set.


8) Sub-committee. This has 2 groups of students, the South Africans and non-Africans.

  a. There are 4 South Africans selected and one of them is from the University of the Witwatersrand (Wits). Wits offered to cover this student in full, so only 3 will be covered from ASP funds: given the support of South Africa for ASP, 3 is fine.

  b. The non-Africans. There is one citizen of Yemen but he is a permanent resident of Morocco. He is good. We propose to select him (he will not require international air travel since he is already in Morocco). There are 2 from the USA and they are covered by the DOE: these funds can only be used for US citizen or permanent residents. Then that leaves a candidate from Colombia (he is good), a candidate from China but he resides in Ghana (he is good) and a potential candidate from Pakistan—ultimately, we will decide whether we can take all these 3 or 1 or 2 of them.


We will not have any further meeting; however, we ask that the sub-committees send their final decisions where expected. Then, Bobby, Abdesslam and Ketevi will meet to discuss the final list of selected and the waiting list.


There are minutes attached to this event. Show them.
    • 5:25 PM 5:35 PM
      Introduction 10m
      Speakers: Abdesslam Arhrib (U), Dr Ketevi Adikle Assamagan (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US))
    • 5:35 PM 5:45 PM
      Report from sub-committee 1 10m
      Speakers: Abdesslam Arhrib (U), Eli Kasai (University of Namibia), Esmeralda Yitamben
    • 5:45 PM 5:55 PM
      Report from sub-committee 2 10m
      Speakers: Bobby Samir Acharya (Abdus Salam Int. Cent. Theor. Phys. (IT)), Christine Darve (European Spallation Source), Prof. Oulne Mustapha (Cadi Ayyad University, Marrakesh, Morocc)
    • 5:55 PM 6:05 PM
      Report from sub-committee 3 10m
      Speakers: Diouma Kobor (University Assane Seck of Ziguinchor (UASZ)), Prof. Farida Fassi (Universite Mohammed V (MA)), Taoufik Ouali (UMP, LPMR, Oujda)
    • 6:05 PM 6:15 PM
      Report from sub-committee 4 10m
      Speakers: Gopolang Mohlabeng (Brookhaven National Laboratory), Dr Mohamed Chabab (Cadi Ayyad University), Dr Nadeem Oozeer (SKA)
    • 6:15 PM 6:25 PM
      Report from sub-committee 5 10m
      Speakers: Prof. Fernando Ferroni (INFN-GSSI), Mostafa Mansour (Universite Mohammed V (MA)), Rachid Mazini (Academia Sinica (TW))
    • 6:25 PM 6:35 PM
      Report from sub-committee 6 10m
      Speakers: Dr Julia Ann Gray (Aga Khan), Prof. Moulay Brahim Sedra (My Ismael, Morocco), luca serafini (INFN-Milan)
    • 6:35 PM 6:45 PM
      Report from sub-committee 7 10m
      Speakers: Mario Campanelli (University College London (UK)), Tabbetha Dobbins, Ulrich Goerlach (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR))
    • 6:45 PM 6:55 PM
      Report from sub-committee 8 10m
      Speakers: Ketevi Adikle Assamagan (Brookhaven National Laboratory (US)), Rachid Mazini (Academia Sinica (TW))