BSM^2 - Beyond the Standard Model BrainStorming Meeting

University of Aveiro - Rectory Building

University of Aveiro - Rectory Building

Alexander Belyaev (University of Southampton & Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) , Antonio Morais (Universidade de Aveiro) , João Pedro Pino Gonçalves (University of Aveiro) , Roman Pasechnik (Lund university)

Despite the success of the Standard Model, there is an overwhelming phenomenological evidence that strongly suggests the need for new physics. In particular, the existence of Dark Matter, neutrino masses, the observed baryon asymmetry and the need for a more fundamental understanding of the gauge and flavour structures are strongly calling for New Physics.

The BSM2  meeting aims at bringing together theoretical and experimental Particle Physicists in close collaboration with Cosmologists and Relativists in order to share their state of the art research as well as foster new ideas and collaborations. The central goal of the meeting is to understand what are the potential avenues in the search for New Physics, how can it be detected and which theories can offer the best candidate solutions. The topics to discuss aim at covering Flavour Physics, Higgs Physics, Neutrino Physics, Dark Matter, Phase Transitions and Primordial Gravitational Waves.


Format of the meeting

The BSM2 workshop is thought to be fully in-person and offer a friendly atmosphere to stimulate rich discussions involving not only senior researchers but also students. It will promote scientific talks about state-of-the-art research developments as well as tutorials relevant for students and researchers working in the subjects of the workshop.


Confirmed tutorials

  • FindBounce - Marco Matteini, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
  • DRalgo - Andreas Ekstedt, DESY, Germany
  • Gambit - Tomas Gonzalo, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Germany
  • From DRalgo to CosmoTransitions - Mårten Bertenstam, Lund University, Sweden
  • 2HDMC – Johan Rathsman, Lund University, Sweden


Organizing Committee

  • António Morais (Chair)
  • Roman Pasechnik
  • João Gonçalves
  • Vasileios Vatellis
  • Koay Yong-Sheng
  • Marco Finetti


The BSM2 meeting is hosted by the gr@v group at Aveiro University and is supported by the FCT projects PTDC/FIS-PAR/31000/2017, UIDB/04106/2020 and UIDP/04106/2020.

We thank the David Weir, Helsinki University, and Particle Physics Playground ( for the available resources used in the picture of the meeting.

  • Alexander Belyaev
  • Aman Desai
  • Andreas Ekstedt
  • Antonio Morais
  • Antonio Onofre
  • Ashar Kamal
  • Filipe Joaquim
  • Francesco Garosi
  • Hector Tiblom
  • Henrique Brito Câmara
  • Johan Rathsman
  • Jose Eliel Camargo Molina
  • José Luis Carrasco Huillca
  • João Pedro Pino Gonçalves
  • João Viana
  • Marco Finetti
  • Marco Matteini
  • Miguel Zilhao
  • Miha Nemevsek
  • Mårten Bertenstam
  • Nuno Santos
  • Pedro Ferreira
  • Pedro Gabriel
  • peter cameron
  • Rodrigo Capucha
  • Roman Pasechnik
  • Rui Santos
  • Tomas Gonzalo
  • Vasileios Vatellis
  • Yong Sheng Koay
António Morais