Feb 13 – 16, 2024
Europe/Zurich timezone

The 9th Low Emittance Rings Workshop 2024, supported by the I.FAST EU project Work Package 7 on High brightness accelerators for light sources, will be held at CERN, Geneva (Switzerland) on 13-16 of February 2024. The goal of the workshop is to bring together experts from the scientific communities working on low emittance lepton rings, including light source storage rings, damping rings and e+/e- circular colliders.

The workshop sessions will include:

- Low emittance ring design

- Low emittance ring commissioning and operation

- Collective effects and beam stability aspects

- Associated technologies for low emittance rings

- Machine Learning tools for design and operation

In collaboration with the IFAST WP11 on Sustainable concepts and technologies, a day will be dedicated to presentations and discussions on Power Consumption, Efficiency and Sustainability, key aspects for the design and operation of present and future accelerators.

Students are encouraged to participate and present their work. A prize will be awarded to the best student presentation to allow for participating in a major conference presenting studies related to Low Emittance Rings.

The programme will be organised by the Scientific Programme Committe:

  • Masamitsu Aiba, PSI
  • Ake Andersson, MAXIV
  • Riccardo Bartolini, DESY
  • Mike Borland, ANL
  • Marica Biagini, INFN-LNF 
  • Pedro Fernandes Tavares, MAXIV
  • Raffaella Geometrante, KYMA
  • Toshihiko Hiraiwa, SPring-8
  • Emanuel Karantzoulis, ELETTRA
  • Gael Le Bec,  ESRF 
  • Akira Mochihashi, KIT 
  • Ryutaro Nagaoka, SOLEIL
  • Katsunobu Oide, KEK
  • Yannis Papaphilippou, CERN
  • Francis Perez, CELLS
  • Günther Rehm, HZB
  • Jean-Luc Revol, ESRF
  • Andrea Santamaria, KIT
  • Volker Schlott, PSI 
  • Mike Seidel, PSI
  • Ben Shepherd, STFC
  • Victor Smalyuk, BNL
  • Frank Zimmermann, CERN


Proposals for contributions to the workshop can be addressed to any member of the scientific committee or directly to the workshop organisers:

Riccardo Bartolini (DESY), riccardo.bartolini@desy.de

Akira Motsihashi (KIT), akira.mochihashi@kit.edu

Yannis Papaphilippou (CERN), yannis@cern.ch

6/2-024 - BE Auditorium Meyrin
Go to map