Dec 5 – 7, 2011
Europe/Zurich timezone

Status of the CRIS experiment

Dec 6, 2011, 5:30 PM
503/1-001 - Council Chamber (CERN)

503/1-001 - Council Chamber


Show room on map
Submitted Heavy nuclei


Kieran Flanagan (University of Manchester (GB))


The installation of the new Collinear Resonant Ionization Spectroscopy (CRIS) experimental beam line and lasers are now nearing completion. Commissioning tests that started towards the end of 2010 have continued throughout 2011 with beams from both ISOLDE and the newly installed off-line ion source. A new detection chamber that incorporates both ion and alpha detectors has been constructed, tested and installed into the CRIS beam line. Off-line and on-line commissioning experiments have been undertaken to study the non-resonant background, neutralization efficiency, laser ionization and data acquisition. The CRIS technique uses a combination of two techniques: resonant ionization spectroscopy (RIS) and collinear laser spectroscopy. The initial proof of principle of the CRIS experiment has already demonstrated an improvement in efficiency over fluorescence detection by up to 3 orders of magnitude in some cases. The new beam line routinely operates below 5e-9 mbar which further suppresses background events by a factor of 50 000. This combination of high detection efficiency and low background counting rates will allow the experiment to study the rarest isotopes produced at ISOLDE. The first on-line run will look at the neutron deficient and neutron rich Francium isotopes. This work is motivated by the migration of the deformed (s1/2-1)1/2+ proton intruder state which is isomeric in 201,203Fr and predicted to invert with the ground state in 199Fr. This talk will present the results from the off-line and on-line commissioning experiments in 2010 and 2011.

Primary author

Kieran Flanagan (University of Manchester (GB))


Anna Soter (Unknown) Bradley Cheal (The University of Manchester) Bruce Marsh (CERN) David Verney (Universite de Paris-Sud 11 (FR)) Francois Le Blanc (Inst. Nat. Phys. Nucl. & Particules (IN2P3)-Universite de Paris-) Prof. Gerda Neyens (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) Prof. Hinko Henry Stroke (New York University (US)) Hossein Aghai Khozani (Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (DE)) Mr Ivan Budincevic (K.U. Leuven) Jasna Papuga (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (BE)) Kara Marie Lynch (University of Manchester (GB)) Klaus Wendt (Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitaet Mainz (DE)) Mark Bissell (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (BE)) Masaki Hori (Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (DE)) Mustafa Rajabali (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) Mr Ronald Fernando Garcia Ruiz (K.U. Leuven) Sebastian Rothe (Johannes-Gutenberg-Universitaet Mainz (DE)) Takumi Kobayashi (University of Tokyo (JP)) Thomas Elias Cocolios (CERN) Thomas Procter (University of Manchester School of Physics) Dr jonathan billowes (university of manchester)

Presentation materials