Jul 4 – 11, 2012
Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre
Australia/Melbourne timezone
ICHEP2012 - 36th International Conference for High Energy Physics

A new intense DC muon beam from a pion capture solenoid, MuSIC

Jul 7, 2012, 12:30 PM
Room 218 (Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre)

Room 218

Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre

Melbourne Australia
Parallel Sessions Track 14. Future Accelerators Room 218 - Future Accelerators - Detectors and Computing for HEP - TR14&13


Ms Yuko Hino (Osaka University (JP))


MuSIC is a project to provide the world's highest-intensity muon beam with continuous time structure at Research Center of Nuclear Physics (RCNP) of Osaka University, Japan. A pion capture system using a superconducting solenoid magnet and a part of superconducting muon transport solenoid channel have been build in 2010. The highest muon production efficiency was demonstrated by the beam test carried out in February 2011. The result concludes that the MuSIC can provide more than 10^9 muons/sec using a 400W proton beam. The pion capture system is one of very important technologies for future muon programs such as moon to electron conversion searches, neutrino factories, and a muon collider. The MuSIC built the first pion capture system and demonstrate its potential to provide an intense muon beam. The construction on the entire beam channel of the MuSIC will be finished in five years. We plan to carry out not only an experiment to search the lepton flavor violating process but also other experiments for muon science and their applications using the intense muon beam at RCNP.

Primary author

Ms Yuko Hino (Osaka University (JP))


Dr Akira Sato (Osaka University) Prof. Akira Yamamoto (High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (JP)) Dr Hideyuki Sakamoto (Osaka University) Prof. Kichiji Hatanaka (RCNP) Makoto YOSHIDA (KEK) Mark Lancaster (UCL) Matthew Wing (UCL) Prof. Mitsuhiro Fukuda (RCNP) Mr Nam Tran Hoai (Osaka Univeristy) Mr Richard D'Arcy (University College London) Mr Sam Cook (University College London) Prof. Toru Ogitsu (KEK) Mr Truong Ming (Osaka University) Prof. Yoshiharu Mori (KURRI) Yoshitaka Kuno (Osaka University)

Presentation materials