Feb 11 – 15, 2013
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Production and Test of the Cylindrical-GEM detectors for the KLOE-2 Inner Tracker

Feb 12, 2013, 2:00 PM
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gußhausstraße 25-29, 1040 Wien (Vienna), Austria


Danilo Domenici (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT))


The upgrade of the KLOE detector at the DAFNE Phi-factory foresees the insertion of a new Inner Tracker device around the interaction region, composed by four tracking layers with diameters from 260 mm to 410 mm and an active length of 700 mm. Each layer is realized as a cylindrical triple-GEM detector, a solution that allows to keep the total material budget under 2% of X0, of utmost importance to limit the multiple scattering of low-momentum tracks at KLOE-2, and to minimize dead spaces. The peculiar readout pattern with XV strips provides a spatial resolution of about 200 um on both views. A dedicated readout system has been developed within the KLOE-2 collaboration. It is composed by a digital readout front-end card based on the GASTONE ASIC and a General Interface Board with a configurable FPGA architecture and Gigabit Ethernet. The three innermost layers have been built and extensively tested with a beta source and cosmic-rays, and the construction of the fourth layer has started. The insertion inside the KLOE apparatus is foreseen in spring 2013. The construction procedure and the results of the validation tests will be reported.
quote your primary experiment KLOE-2

Primary author

Danilo Domenici (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT))


Alessandro Balla (Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (LNF)) Alessandro Pelosi (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare Sezione di Roma 1) Antonio Budano (Roma Tre Universita Degli Studi (IT)) Antonio Di Domenico (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Antonio Ranieri (INFN Bari) Edisher Tshadadze (INFN LNF) Erika De Lucia (Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (LNF)-Istituto Nazionale Fisic) Flavio Loddo (INFN Bari) Gianfranco Morello (Univ. degli Studi della Calabria) Giovanni Bencivenni (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Giulietto Felici (Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (LNF)) Giuseppe De Robertis (Universita e INFN (IT)) Jing Dong (INFN) Lina Quintieri (INFN LNF) Manlio Capodiferro (INFN Roma) Maurizio Gatta (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare Sezione di Roma 1) Maurizio Mongelli (INFN Bari) Nicola Lacalamita (Universita e INFN (IT)) Dr Paolo Branchini (Roma Tre Universita Degli Studi (IT)) Paolo Ciambrone (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Raffaele Liuzzi (INFN Bari) Stefano Cerioni (Istituto Nazionale Fisica Nucleare (IT)) Vincenzo Valentino (INFN Bari) giampiero fanizzi (INFN Bari)

Presentation materials