We upgraded Indico to version 3.0. The new search is now available as well.

Development of Superconducting Tunnel Junction Photon Detector on SOI Preamplifier Board to Search for Radiative decays of Cosmic Background Neutrino.

6 Jun 2014, 15:00
Veilingzaal (Beurs van Berlage)


Beurs van Berlage

Oral Sensors: 1d) Photon Detectors I.d Photon


Kota Kasahara (University of Tsukuba (JP))


We develop superconducting tunnnel junction (STJ) to search for radiative decays of cosmic background neutrino using cosmic infrared background energy spectrum. The requirement for performance of the detector in our experiment is to detect a single far-infrared photon. We can detect a single far-infrared photon with Nb/Al-STJ theoretically. So far we have not succeeded in detecting it yet because the signal of a single far-infrared photon with the STJ is too small comaparing with the present noise of our electronics. To solve this problem, we use a charge sensitive preamplifier that can operate at low temperature around 1K to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of STJ. cSOI(Silicon on Insulator) preamplifier is a candidate of the preamplifier as it was proved to operate at 4K by a JAXA/KEK group. We have developed a STJ processed on a SOI preamplifier board to make this detector compact. Firstly, we have processed STJ on a SOI board with only SOI-MOSFET's to check the connection between STJ and SOIFET and the STJ processing without any damage on SOIFET. We confirmed that the SOIFET had excellent performance below 1K and the STJ on SOI could operate normally. Then we made and tested the second version of SOI-STJ detector with the readout circuit on SOI wafer as the charge sensitive amplifier. We will report the present status of development of this SOI-STJ detector.

Primary author

Kota Kasahara (University of Tsukuba (JP))


Prof. Dmitri Sergatskov (Fermilba) Prof. Erik Ramberg (Fermilab) Prof. Hirokazu Ishino (Okayama University) Mr Kazuki Nagata (University of Tsukuba (JP)) Mr Kenji Kiuchi (University of Tsukuba (JP)) Mr Koichi Nagase (JAXA) Mr Koya Moriuchi (University of Tsukuba) Prof. Mark Kozlovsky (Fermilab) Mr Masahiro Kanamaru (University of Tsukuba) Prof. Masashi Hazumi (KEK) Mr Paul Ruvinov (Fermilab) Mr Ren Senzaki (University of Tsukuba) Dr Satoru Mima (RIKEN) Prof. Shinhong Kim (University of Tsukuba) Prof. Shuji Matsuura (JAXA) Prof. Takehiko Wada (JAXA) Prof. Takuo Yoshida (Fukui University) Mr Takuya Okudaira (University of Tsukuba) Mr Tatsuya Ichimura (University of Tsukuba) Prof. Yasuo Arai (KEK) Prof. Yuji Takeuchi (University of Tsukuba) Prof. Yukihiro Kato (Kinki University)

Presentation materials