CO2 cooling system for Insertable B Layer detector into the ATLAS experiment

2 Jun 2014, 16:50
Veilingzaal (Beurs van Berlage)


Beurs van Berlage

Oral Emerging technologies: 4a) Cooling and cryogenics IV.a Cooling


Lukasz Zwalinski (CERN)


CO2 cooling has become a very interesting technology for current and future tracking particle detectors. A key advantage of using CO2 as refrigerant is the high heat transfer capability allowing a significant material budget saving, which is a critical element in state of the art detector technologies. At CERN new CO2 cooling system has been constructed to serve for new ATLAS Insertable B-Layer (IBL) detector. Two independent cooling units, sharing one common accumulator, placed about 100m from the heat source, are designed to cool 14 individual staves with evaporative CO2 at the given pressure. This paper describes the general system design, innovative redundancy approach, maintenance philosophy, control system implementation and the commissioning results including the performance tests in the proximity of the detector. Additionally the different failure scenarios and recovery techniques including cooling units swap procedure will be discussed. The system tests and challenging commissioning proved precise temperature control over the long distance and expected performance. Looking forward for the IBL detector installation, cooling system will be prepared to serve for the next Large Hadron Collider physics run.

Primary author


Bart Verlaat (NIKHEF (NL)) Claudio Bortolin (University of Innsbruck (AT)) Mr Erno Roeland (Nikhef) Florian Corbaz (CERN) George Glonti (National Technical Univ. of Athens (GR)) Jan Godlewski (CERN) Maciej Stanislaw Ostrega (AGH University of Science and Technology (PL)) Markus Lippert (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Martijn Gerardus Van Overbeek (NIKHEF (NL)) Michal Zbigniew Zimny (AGH University of Science and Technology (PL)) Olivier Crespo-Lopez (CERN) Paolo Petagna (CERN) Stephane Berry (CERN) Sven Vogt (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Physik (Werner-Heisenberg-Institut) (D) Sylvain Nichilo (CERN) Tomasz Piotr Blaszczyk (AGH University of Science and Technology (PL))

Presentation materials