Jun 2 – 6, 2014
Beurs van Berlage
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

First Measurements of SuperCDMS SNOLAB 100 mm Diameter Germanium Dark Matter Detectors with Interleaved Charge and Phonon Channels

Jun 4, 2014, 4:20 PM
Veilingzaal (Beurs van Berlage)


Beurs van Berlage

Oral Experiments: 2d) Dark Matter Detectors II.d Dark Matter


Dr H. Chagani (University of Minnesota)


The first phase of the Super Cryogenic Dark Matter Search (SuperCDMS) SNOLAB experiment shall consist of a 110 kg array of germanium and silicon athermal phonon detectors. It is expected to reach an order of magnitude better sensitivity than has been achieved so far by the best experiments in the field. The technical challenges of commissioning a payload of this size have led to the development of 1.4 kg germanium detectors (100 mm diameter, 33 mm thick), which are 2.3 times larger than those presently in use in the SuperCDMS experiment at Soudan. The first results from testing of a prototype detector with interleaved phonon and charge channels are presented. The test results are promising for the use of these detectors in the next phase of SuperCDMS.

Primary author

Dr H. Chagani (University of Minnesota)


Ms A. Kennedy (University of Minnesota) Dr A. N. Villano (University of Minnesota) Dr A. Tomada (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Prof. B. A. Young (Santa Clara University) Prof. B. Cabrera (Stanford University) Prof. B. Sadoulet (University of California, Berkeley) Dr B. Serfass (University of California, Berkeley) Dr B. Shank (Stanford University) Dr C. J. Kenney (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr C. Phenicie (University of Minnesota) Dr D. A. Bauer (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr D. Brandt (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr D. N. Seitz (University of California, Berkeley) Mr D. Nagasawa (Stanford University) Mr D. Strandberg (University of Minnesota) Dr E. Do Couto e Silva (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr G. A. Codoreanu (University of Minnesota) Dr G. L. Godfrey (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr J. Hall (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr J. Hasi (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr J. Yen (Stanford University) Mr J. Zhang (University of Minnesota) Mr K. Page (Queen's University Kingston) Dr L. Novak (Stanford University) Mr M. Cherry (Stanford University) Dr M. Kelsey (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr M. Pyle (University of California, Berkeley) Dr N. Mirabolfathi (University of California, Berkeley) Prof. P. Cushman (University of Minnesota) Dr P. L. Brink (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Dr R. Partridge (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Ms R. Radpour (University of Minnesota) Mr R. Resch (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr S. Hansen (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Mr S. Monin (University of Minnesota) Dr S. W. Leman (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Prof. V. Mandic (University of Minnesota) Prof. W. Rau (Queen's University Kingston)

Presentation materials