Integrating network and transfer metrics to optimize transfer efficiency and experiment workflows

Apr 13, 2015, 3:15 PM
C210 (C210)



oral presentation Track6: Facilities, Infrastructure, Network Track 6 Session


Shawn Mc Kee (University of Michigan (US))


The Worldwide LHC Computing Grid relies on the network as a critical part of its infrastructure and therefore needs to guarantee effective network usage and prompt detection and resolution of any network issues, including connection failures, congestion, traffic routing, etc. The WLCG Network and Transfer Metrics project aims to integrate and combine all network-related monitoring data collected by the WLCG infrastructure. This includes FTS monitoring information, monitoring data from the XRootD federation, as well as results of the perfSONAR tests. The main challenge consists of further integrating and analyzing this information so that it can be turned into actionable insight for optimization of data transfers and workload management systems of the LHC experiments.The presentation will include technical description of the WLCG network monitoring infrastructure as well as results of the analysis of the collected data. It will also highlight how results of this analysis can be used in order to improve efficiency of the WLCG computing activities.

Primary authors

Marian Babik (CERN) Shawn Mc Kee (University of Michigan (US))


Alessandra Forti (University of Manchester (GB)) Alessandro De Salvo (Universita e INFN, Roma I (IT)) Andreas Petzold (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Bruno Heinrich Hoeft (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Christopher John Walker (University of London (GB)) Costin Grigoras (CERN) Duncan Rand (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Enrico Mazzoni (Sezione di Pisa (IT)) Fernando Lopez Munoz (PIC (ES)) Frederique Chollet (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (FR)) Guenter Duckeck (Ludwig-Maximilians-Univ. Muenchen (DE)) Mr HSIN YEN CHEN (ASGC) Ian Gable (University of Victoria (CA)) Ilija Vukotic (University of Chicago (US)) Jason Zurawski (ESnet) Joel Closier (CERN) John Shade (CERN) Jorge Alberto Diaz Cruz (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Jose Flix Molina (Centro de Investigaciones Energ. Medioambientales y Tecn. - (ES) Kaushik De (University of Texas at Arlington (US)) Michael OConnor (E) Michail Salichos (CERN) Dr Simone Campana (CERN) Dr Tony Wildish (Princeton University (US)) Ulf Bobson Severin Tigerstedt (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI)) Vincent Garonne (CERN) Volodymyr Kotlyar (Institute for Theoretical Physics, National Science Center Kharkov Institute of Physics and Technology, Nat. Acad. of Sciences of Ukraine (UA))

Presentation materials