The production deployment of IPv6 on WLCG

Apr 16, 2015, 11:45 AM
B503 (B503)



oral presentation Track6: Facilities, Infrastructure, Network Track 6 Session


Dave Kelsey (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB))


The world is rapidly running out of IPv4 addresses; the number of IPv6 end systems connected to the internet is increasing; WLCG and the LHC experiments may soon have access to worker nodes and/or virtual machines (VMs) possessing only an IPv6 routable address. The HEPiX IPv6 Working Group ( has been investigating, testing and planning for dual-stack services on WLCG for several years. Following feedback from our working group, many of the storage technologies in use on WLCG have recently been made IPv6-capable. The worldwide HEP computing community now needs to deploy dual-stack IPv6/IPv4 services on WLCG to allow such use of IPv6-only resources. This paper will present the IPv6 requirements, tests and plans of each of the four LHC experiments together with the tests performed both on the IPv6 test-bed and in targeted use of WLCG production services. This is primarily aimed at IPv6-only worker nodes or VMs accessing several different implementations of a global dual-stack federated storage service. The changes required to the operational infrastructure, including monitoring and security, will be addressed as will the implications for site management. The working group will present its deployment plan for dual-stack storage services, together with other essential central and monitoring services, to start during 2015.

Primary author

Dave Kelsey (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB))


Alastair Dewhurst (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Dr Andrea Sciaba (CERN) Bruno Heinrich Hoeft (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Christopher John Walker (University of London (GB)) Costin Grigoras (CERN) Duncan Rand (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Edoardo Martelli (CERN) Mr Ewan MacMahon (University of Oxford) Fernando Lopez Munoz (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (ES)) Francesco Prelz (Università degli Studi e INFN Milano (IT)) Jerome Bernier (IN2P3 Computing Center) Jiri Chudoba (Acad. of Sciences of the Czech Rep. (CZ)) Kars Ohrenberg (DESY) Dr Keith Chadwick (Fermilab) Marek Elias (FZU ASCR) Raja Nandakumar (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) Ramiro Voicu (California Institute of Technology (US)) Simon Fayer (Imperial College Sci., Tech. & Med. (GB)) Dr Simone Campana (CERN) Thomas Finnern (DESY) Mr Tiju Idiculla (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Laboratory) Dr Tony Wildish (Princeton University (US)) Ulf Tigerstedt (CSC Oy)

Presentation materials