Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Jan 19 – 30, 2015
Ecole de Physique des Houches
Europe/Zurich timezone

The school will cover various topics of physics with trapped charged particles. Lectures will cover basic trap physics and recent developments in Penning traps, Paul traps etc., collective behavior and (non-neutral) plasmas, as well as applications for fundamental physics, precision spectroscopy, quantum information, frequency standards, antimatter. Lectures will be systematically complemented by a series of tutorials/exercice sessions. Two poster sessions where participants present their work, and a half-day visit to CERN will also be organised. It is planned that all lectures, tutorials and exercises will be published as a textbook in 2015.

The school is aimed primarily at PhD students and post docs in the field. Les Houches Physics School has a limited capacity of ~55 participants and interested parties are therefore invited to apply to participate. If the number of applications is beyond the capacity a selection will take place based on perceived utility of participation.


Ecole de Physique des Houches

The expected price is 700 EUR for students and 900 EUR for others. These prices may be lowered once the full amount of sponsor support is known. The fee covers all expenses at the school (full board, accommodation and the school). A limited number of travel grants/fee waivers will be available. To apply for these, a motivation letter and a recommendation by your supervisor have to be submitted with your registration.

Confirmed speakers :

Christian Roos (University of Innsbruck) Dan Dubin (UC San Diego) Daniel Segal (Imperial College London) François Anderegg (UC San Diego) Jeffrey S. Hangst (University of Aarhus) Joel Fajans (UC Berkeley) Klaus Blaum (MPI Heidelberg) Martina Knoop (Aix-Marseille University) Michael Drewsen (Aarhus University) Niels Madsen (Swansea University) Piet O. Schmidt (PTB) Richard Thompson (Imperial College London) Roland Wester (University of Innsbruck) Stephan Ulmer (RIKEN) Thomas Sunn Pedersen (Max-Planck Institute of Plasma Physics)