Jan 19 – 30, 2015
Ecole de Physique des Houches
Europe/Zurich timezone

Nuclear astrophysics and in-source laser spectroscopy using ISOLTRAP

Not scheduled
Ecole de Physique des Houches

Ecole de Physique des Houches



Dinko Atanasov (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE))


The four trap mass spectrometer ISOLTRAP is an experiment primarily dedicated to precision mass measurements of radioactive nuclides. It is located at ISOLDE allowing investigations of ions produced via spallation, fission or fragmentation by impinging a 1.4 GeV proton beam on hot targets. The current ISOLTRAP setup consists of a linear segmented radio-frequency cooler and buncher, a multi-reflection time-of-flight mass separator (MR-ToF MS), a preparation Penning trap and a precision Penning trap. The unique combination of traps recently allowed us to study the very neutron-rich isotopes of Cadmium. The masses of $^{129-131}$Cd isotopes around the $N=82$ shell closure were determined. The studied masses are of great importance as they serve as input parameters to the astrophysical r-process. Furthermore, ISOLTRAP has the ability to assist the in-source laser spectroscopy program at ISOLDE by complementing the Resonance Ionization Laser Ion Source (RILIS). RILIS is a chemically selective ion source using multi-step resonant excitation of atoms. In combination with the MR-ToF MS we successfully obtained the hyperfine structure of Astatine isotopes, from which charge radii and electromagnetic moments can be extracted. In this contribution the current setup of ISOLTRAP will be presented as well as the techniques for mass measurements of Cd isotopes and furthermore the laser-spectroscopy measurements of the hyperfine structure in the isotopic chain of At.

Primary author

Dinko Atanasov (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE))


Dr Alexander Herlert (Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research (DE)) Christine Boehm (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Christopher Borgmann (Uppsala University (SE)) David Lunney (CSNSM Centre de Spectrometrie Nucle aire et de Spectrometrie de) Dennis Neidherr (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)) Dietrich Beck (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)) Dmitry Kisler (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Mr Enrique Minaya Ramirez (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)) Dr Frank HERFURTH (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)) Frank Wienholtz (Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universitaet (DE)) Juliane Stanja (Technische Universitaet Dresden (DE)) Kai Zuber (Technische Universitaet Dresden) Klaus Blaum (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Lutz Schweikhard (Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universitaet (DE)) Dr Magdalena Kowalska (CERN) Marco Rosenbusch (Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universitaet (DE)) Martin Breitenfeldt (Instituut voor Kernen Stralingsfysica (BE)) Pauline Ascher (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Robert Wolf (Ernst-Moritz-Arndt-Universitaet (DE)) Sarah Naimi (Inst. of Physical and Chemical Research (JP)) Sebastian George (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Sergey Eliseev (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Susanne Kreim (CERN) Thomas Elias Cocolios (University of Manchester (GB)) Tommi Eronen (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Vladimir Manea (Max-Planck-Institute for Nuclear Physics (DE)) Yuri Litvinov (GSI - Helmholtzzentrum fur Schwerionenforschung GmbH (DE)) burcu Cakirli (Department of Physics, University of Istanbul, (TR))

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.