July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Progress on the development of a wavelength-shifting optical module

Jul 30, 2015, 3:30 PM
Amazon Foyer Terrace (World Forum)

Amazon Foyer Terrace

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Board: 271
Poster contribution NU-IN Poster 1 DM and NU


Dustin Hebecker (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin / DESY)


We report on the development of a photon sensor sensitive to single photons that employs wavelength-shifting and light-guiding techniques to maximize the collection area and to minimize the dark noise rate. The sensor is tailored towards applications in ice-Cherenkov neutrino detectors using inert and cold, low-radioactivity and UV transparent ice as a detection medium, such as IceCube-Gen2 or MICA. The goal is to decrease the energy threshold as well as to increase the energy resolution and the vetoing capability of the neutrino telescope, when compared to a setup with optical sensors similar to those used in IceCube. The detector captures photons with wavelengths between 250$\,$nm to 400$\,$nm. These photons are re-emitted with wavelenghts above 400$\,$nm by a wavelength shifter coating applied to a 90$\,$mm diameter polymer tube which guides the light towards a small-diameter PMT via total internal reflection. By scaling the results from smaller laboratory prototypes, the total efficiency of the proposed detector for a Cherenkov spectrum is estimated to exceed that of a standard IceCube optical module by a factor of 2.7. The status of the prototype development and performance of its main components as well as the potential for future IceCube extensions will be discussed.
Collaboration -- not specified --
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 236

Primary author

Dustin Hebecker (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin / DESY)


Carl - Christian Fösig (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz) Delia Tosi (University of Wisconsin) Esther del Pino Rosendo (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz) Krystina Sand (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz) Lutz Köpke (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz) Marek Kowalski (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin / DESY) Markus Gerhard Archinger (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz) Michael DuVernois (University of Wisconsin) Peter Falke (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn) Sebastian Böser (Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz) Timo Karg (DESY)

Presentation materials