July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Dedicated power supply system for silicon photomultipliers

Aug 1, 2015, 3:30 PM
Amazon Foyer (World Forum)

Amazon Foyer

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Board: 150
Poster contribution CR-IN Poster 2 CR


Johannes Schumacher (RWTH Aachen University)


Silicon photomultipliers (SiPMs) have replaced traditional photomultiplier tubes bit by bit in high-energy physics experiments in the last years. This includes the scientific fields where the demand for highly efficient and stable photo sensors outweigh the need for large active areas. Silicon photomultipliers offer high photon detection efficiencies, low supply voltages and stable operation even under harsh environments, for example bright moon-light conditions. The temperature dependence, however, presents a challenge to the power supply system which has to compensate for this effect along with biasing the SiPMs with a stable voltage with $\text{mV}$ precision at up to $100\,\text{V}$ ($10^{-5}$ accuracy). Here, we present an intelligent power supply system for silicon photomultipliers. Up to $64$ SiPM channels can be driven with one module, where more than $1\,\text{mA}$ of power can be drained per channel. The operating-voltage can be changed in $1\,\text{mV}$ steps to allow for temperature variations of the power supply system itself, which is well below $1\,\text{mV K}^{-1}$. A built-in micro-controller applies the voltage correction for temperature changes on the SiPM automatically using up to $64$ analogue temperature sensors. The data, like the mean current per channel, temperature and applied voltage is communicated via Ethernet, while the user is able to set the bias-voltage to his needs. Measurements concerning the performance of the power supply system are being shown.
Collaboration -- not specified --
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 456

Primary author

Johannes Schumacher (RWTH Aachen University)


Mr Daniel Louis (RWTH Aachen University) Mr Franz-Peter Zantis (RWTH Aachen University) Dr Jan Auffenberg (RWTH Aachen University) Prof. Thomas Bretz (RWTH Aachen University) Prof. Thomas Hebbeker (RWTH Aachen University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.