Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB
July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Status and plans for the Array Control and Data Acquisition System of the Cherenkov Telescope Array

Jul 30, 2015, 3:30 PM
Mississippi Foyer (World Forum)

Mississippi Foyer

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Board: 110
Poster contribution GA-IN Poster 1 GA


Igor Oya (DESY Zeuthen)


The Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) is the next-generation atmospheric Cherenkov gamma-ray observatory. CTA will consist of two installations, one in each hemisphere, containing tens of telescopes of different sizes. The CTA performance requirements and the inherent complexity associated with the operation, control and monitoring of such a large distributed multi-telescope array leads to new challenges in the field of the gamma-ray astronomy. The ACTL (array control and data acquisition) system will consist of the hardware and software that is necessary to control and monitor the CTA array, as well as to time-stamp, read-out, filter and store -at aggregated rates of few GB/s- the scientific data. The ACTL system must be flexible enough to permit the simultaneous automatic operation of multiple sub-arrays of telescopes with a minimum personnel effort on site. One of the challenges of the system is to provide a reliable integration of the control of a large and heterogeneous set of devices. Moreover, the system is required to be ready to adapt the observation schedule, on timescales of a few tens of seconds, to account for changing environmental conditions or to prioritize incoming scientific alerts from time-critical transient phenomena as gamma ray bursts. This contribution provides a summary of the main design choices and plans for building the ACTL system.
Collaboration CTA
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 310

Primary authors

Amanda Weinstein (Iowa State University) Dr Arnim Balzer (Universiteit van Amsterdam) Claudio Tanci (I.N.A.F.) David Berge (NIKHEF (NL)) David Melkumyan (DESY Zeuthen) Etienne Lyard (University of Geneva) Fulvio Gianotti (INAF) Gino Tosti (University of Perugia) Igor Oya (DESY Zeuthen) Jordi Camprecios (IEEC-CSIC) Josep Colomé (IEEC-CSIC) Dr Joseph Schwarz (INAF - Osservatorio Astronomico di Brera) Jurek Borkowski (N. Copernicus Astronomical Center) Dr Matthias Fuessling (DESY Zeuthen) Dr Michael Mayer (Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin) Dr Peter Wegner (DESY) Ralf Wischnewski (DESY Zeuthen) Rico Lindemann (DESY Zeuthen) Stephan Wiesand (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Thierry Le Flour (LAPP) Dr Torsten Schmidt (DESY Zeuthen) Ullrich Schwanke (Humboldt University Berlin) Vito Conforti (INAF IASF Bologna)

Presentation materials