Due to technical problems on the CERN SSO system, logging in is currently failing intermittently.
July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Development of an optical system for the SST-1M telescope of the Cherenkov Telescope Array observatory

Aug 4, 2015, 4:00 PM
Mississippi Foyer (World Forum)

Mississippi Foyer

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Board: 114
Poster contribution GA-IN Poster 3 GA


Michał Ostrowski (Astronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University)


The prototype of a Davies-Cotton small size telescope (SST-1M) has been designed and developed by a consortium of Polish and Swiss institutions and proposed for the Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) observatory. The main purpose of the optical subsystem is to focus the Cherenkov light emitted by extensive air showers in the atmosphere onto the focal plane detectors. The main component of the subsystem is a dish consisting of 18 hexagonal mirrors with a total effective collection area of 6.47 m2 (including the shadowing and estimated mirror reflectivity). Such a solution was chosen taking into account the analysis of the Cherenkov light propagation and based on optical simulations. The proper curvature and stability of the dish is ensured by the mirror alignment system and the isostatic interface to the telescope structure. Here we present the design of the optical subsystem together with the performance measurements of its components.
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 98
Collaboration CTA

Primary author

Karol Seweryn (Space Research Centre PAS)


Jacek Niemiec (Institute of Nuclear Physics PAS) Janusz Nicolau–Kukliński (Space Research Centre PAS) Jerzy Michałowski (Institute of Nuclear Physics PAS) Michał Karczewski (Space Research Centre PAS) Michał Ostrowski (Astronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University) Mirosław Rataj (Space Research Centre PAS) Paweł Paśko (Space Research Centre PAS) Paweł Żychowski (Institute of Nuclear Physics PAS) Piotr Wawer (Space Research Centre PAS) Rafał Moderski (Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center PAS) Roman Wawrzaszek (Space Research Centre PAS) Tomasz Barciński (Space Research Centre PAS) Łukasz Płatos (Space Research Centre PAS)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.