Due to technical problems on the CERN SSO system, logging in is currently failing for many users. Details on the SSB
July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Simulating Cherenkov Telescope Array observation of RX J1713.7−3946

Aug 5, 2015, 2:00 PM
World Forum

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Oral contribution GA-EX Parallel GA19 Fermi


Dr Takeshi NAKAMORI (Yamagata University)


We perform simulations of Cherenkov Telescope Array (CTA) observations of a young supernova remnant RX J1713.7−3946. This target is not only one of the brightest sources ever discovered in very high-energy (VHE) gamma-rays but also well observed in other wavebands. In X-rays, the emission is dominated by synchrotron radiation, which links directly to the existence of high-energy electrons. Radio observations of CO and HI gas have revealed a highly inhomogeneous medium surrounding the SNR, such as clumpy molecular clouds. Therefore gamma-rays from hadronic interactions are naturally expected. However, the spectrum in GeV energy range measured by Fermi/LAT indicates more typical of leptonic emission from accelerated electrons. Despite lots of multi-wavelength information, the competing interpretations have led to much uncertainty in the quest of unraveling the true origin of the gamma-ray emission from RX J1713.7--3946. CTA will achieve highest performance ever in sensitivity, angular resolution, and energy resolution. We estimate CTA capability to examine the emission mechanisms of the gamma-rays through simulated spatial distribution, spectra, and their time variation.
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 0550
Collaboration CTA

Primary author

Dr Takeshi NAKAMORI (Yamagata University)


Dr Akira OKUMURA (STE Laboratory) Dr Aya BAMBA (Aoyama Gakuin University) Dr Hideaki KATAGIRI (Ibaraki University) Dr Hidetoshi KUBO (Kyoto University) Dr Hidetoshi SANO (Nagoya University) Dr Hiroyasu TAJIMA (STE Laboratory) Dr Junko KUSHIDA (Tokai University) Dr Kazunori KOHRI (KEK) Dr Kohta MURASE (IAS) Dr Koji MORI (Miyazaki University) Dr Kunihito IOKA (KEK) Dr Makoto SAWADA (Aoyama Gakuin University) Dr Masaaki HAYASHIDA (ICRR) Dr Ryo YAMAZAKI (Aoyama Gakuin University) Dr SUSUMU INOUE (MPI) Prof. Shigehiro NAGATAKI (RIKEN) Prof. Shohei YANAGITA (Ibaraki University) Dr Shui-Hang LEE (ISAS/JAXA) Prof. Shuichi GUNJI (Yamagata University) Dr Takaaki TANAKA (Kyoto University) Dr Takanori YOSHIKOSHI (ICRR) Dr Takayuki SAITO (Kyoto University) Prof. Tatsuo YOSHIDA (Ibaraki University) Dr Tsuguya NAITO (Yamanashi Gakuin University) Dr Tsuyoshi INOUE (NAOJ) Dr Yasunobu UCHIYAMA (Rikkyo University) Prof. Yasuo FUKUI (Nagoya University) Dr Yoshitaka HANABATA (ICRR) Dr Yukikatsu TERADA (Saitama University) Dr Yutaka FUJITA (Osaka University) Dr Yutaka OHIRA (Aoyama Gakuin University)

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.