Indico has been upgraded to version 3.1. Details in the SSB
July 29, 2015 to August 6, 2015
World Forum
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Methods for cosmic ray anisotropy searches with AMS-02

Aug 4, 2015, 11:45 AM
World Forum

World Forum

Churchillplein 10 2517 JW Den Haag The Netherlands
Oral contribution CR-EX Parallel CR15 Direct/Aniso


Iris Gebauer (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))


The Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS-02) is a state-of-the-art particle detector designed to operate as an external module on the International Space Station (ISS). In the absence of atmospheric disturbance, cosmic ray fluxes between 0.5 GeV and a few TeV can be measured with high precision. In 2014, the AMS collaboration provided precise measurements of the electron and positron fluxes, which indicate an additional source of positrons among the various cosmic particles. Possible candidates for this source are local pulsars, a local source of positrons produced in proton-gas interactions or the annihilation of dark matter. In the first two cases a possible anisotropy in the $e^{\pm}$ incoming direction at Earth, caused by the finite extension of the production site, might be detectable. To determine the level of isotropy in the AMS-02 data it is necessary to compare the measured $e^{\pm}$ arrival directions to reference maps, which simulate the AMS-02 measurement of an isotropic sky. A common choice of reference maps are proton count maps, assuming that a possible anisotropy in proton arrival directions is significantly lower than that for $e^{\pm}$. We present a method to determine the upper limits on an anisotropy in proton arrival directions. Two different methods to search for anisotropies in the $e^{\pm}$ fluxes, an expansion into multipoles and a direct bin-to-bin comparison, will be presented. We demonstrate the performance of the method using AMS-02 data.
Collaboration AMS
Registration number following "ICRC2015-I/" 717

Primary authors

Carmen Maria Merx (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Iris Gebauer (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Karen Grace Andeen (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Nikolay Nikonov (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Stefan Zeissler (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE)) Valerio Vagelli (KIT - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (DE))

Presentation materials

There are no materials yet.