Feb 17 – 19, 2015
FBK, Trento
Europe/Zurich timezone

Results on FBK 3D pixel detectors for CMS

Feb 18, 2015, 11:45 AM
"Stringa" Conference Hall (FBK, Trento)

"Stringa" Conference Hall

FBK, Trento

Via Sommarive, 18 38123 Povo - Trento ITALY


Fabio Ravera (Universita e INFN Torino (IT))


For the CMS-TOTEM Precise Proton Spectrometer, tracking and timing detectors will be installed next year along the LHC beamline at ~$220$ m from the CMS interaction point. To measure protons scattered at very small angles, detectors will be placed within Roman Pots at a few mm from the LHC beam. Tracking detectors are supposed to receive an irradiation fluence up to $5x10^{15}$ p/cm$^2$. The chosen technology, capable to stand this irradiation level, is $3$D pixel sensor, where columnar electrodes ensure extremely good radiation hardness. Results of laboratory and test beam measurements will be presented for FBK $3$D silicon pixel detectors for CMS. In particular, $1\!$E sensors (single readout electrode for each pixel), coming from the same wafers of the ATLAS-IBL production, read out by the new PSI$46$ digital chip developed for the Phase I upgrade of the CMS silicon pixel detector, have been tested on a $120$ GeV proton beam at Fermilab, before and after being irradiated with $23$ MeV protons at KIT, within the AIDA project, to different fluences up to $1x10^{16}$ n$_{eq}$/cm$^2$. Laboratory measurements and the calibration and optimization of the readout chip were performed in Torino.

Primary author

Fabio Ravera (Universita e INFN Torino (IT))


Ada Solano (Universita' di Torino e INFN (IT)) Mr Alan Prosser (Fermilab) Andrew Godshalk (SUNY at Buffalo) Dr Ashish Kumar (SUNY/Buffalo) Dr Ching Man Lei (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) Prof. Daniela Bortoletto (University of Oxford (GB)) Dario Menasce (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Enrico Robutti (Universita e INFN (IT)) Fabrizio Ferro (INFN - Genova) Prof. Gian-Franco Dalla Betta (INFN and University of Trento) Gino Bolla (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) John Chramowicz (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory) John Perry Cumalat (University of Colorado at Boulder (US)) Mr Kirk Thomas Arndt (Purdue University (US)) Lalith Perera (University of Mississippi (US)) Dr Lorenzo Uplegger (Fermilab) Luigi Moroni (INFN Sezione di Milano (INFN)) Luigi Vigani (University of Oxford) Maria Margherita Obertino (Universita e INFN Torino (IT)) Maurizio Boscardin (FBK Trento) Maurizio Lo Vetere (Universita degli Studi di Genova Dipart. di Fisica) Dr Mauro Dinardo (Universita & INFN, Milano-Bicocca (IT)) Mayur Bubna (Purdue University (US)) Michael David Krohn (University of Colorado at Boulder (US)) Ryan Allen Rivera (Fermi National Accelerator Lab. (US)) Simon Kwan (Fermilab) Stephen Wagner (University of Colorado at Boulder (US)) Timothy Matthew Jones (Purdue University (US)) Xin Shi (Purdue University (US)) Prof. marco costa (University of Torino)

Presentation materials