Mar 21 – 27, 2009
Europe/Prague timezone

Distributed analysis with PROOF in ATLAS Collaboration

Mar 24, 2009, 2:20 PM
Club C (Prague)

Club C


Prague Congress Centre 5. května 65, 140 00 Prague 4, Czech Republic
oral Distributed Processing and Analysis Distributed Processing and Analysis


Dr Sergey Panitkin (Department of Physics - Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL))


The Parallel ROOT Facility - PROOF is a distributed analysis system which allows to exploit inherent event level parallelism of high energy physics data. PROOF can be configured to work with centralized storage systems, but it is especially effective together with distributed local storage systems - like Xrootd, when data are distributed over computing nodes. It works efficiently on different types of hardware and scales well from a multi-core laptop to large computing farms. From that point of view it is well suited for both large central analysis facilities and Tier 3 type analysis farms. PROOF can be used in interactive or batch like regimes. The interactive regime allows user to work with typically distributed data from ROOT command prompt and get a real time feedback on analysis progress and intermediate results. We will discuss our experience with PROOF in the context of ATLAS Collaboration distributed analysis. In particular we will discuss PROOF performance in various analysis scenarios and in multi-user, multi-session environment. We will also describe PROOF integration with ATLAS distributed data management system and prospects of running PROOF on geographically distributed analysis farms.
Presentation type (oral | poster) oral

Primary author

Dr Sergey Panitkin (Department of Physics - Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL))


Dr Akira Shibata (New York University) Prof. Bruce Mellado (University of Wisconsin, Madison) Dr Doug Benjamin (Duke University) Dr Fabien Tarrade (New York University) Mr German Carillo Montoya (University of Wisconsin, Madison) Dr Hironori Ito (Brookhaven National Lab) Prof. Kyle Cranmer (New York University) Dr Michael Ernst (Brookhaven National Lab) Mr Neng Xu (University of Wisconsin, Madison) Dr Ofer Rind (Brookhaven National Lab) Dr Shuwei Ye (Brookhaven National Lab) Dr Stephanie Majewski (Brookhaven National Lab) Dr Tadashi Maeno (Brookhaven National Lab) Dr Torre Wenaus (Brookhaven National Lab) Wen Guan (University of Wisconsin, Madison)

Presentation materials