7-10 June 2016
Groningen, Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Recent results from CODALEMA and the Nan\c cay radio facilities related to cosmic-ray measurements

7 Jun 2016, 09:20
Groningen, Netherlands

Groningen, Netherlands

Hampshire Plaza Hotel
Invited talk Presentations


Mr Richard Dallier (SUBATECH, Nantes / Radio Observatory of Nançay)


Since 2003, the Nançay Radio Observatory hosts the CODALEMA experiment, dedicated to radio detection of cosmic ray induced extensive air showers. Several instrumental upgrades have been made up to the current setup. CODALEMA is now composed of: - 57 self-triggering radio detection stations working in the 20-250 MHz band and spread over $1~km^2$; - a 13 scintillator array acting as a particle detector; - a compact array made of 10 cabled antennas, triggered by the particle detector, and whose role is to figure out the capabilities of a phased antenna cluster to cleverly select air shower events. In addition, CODALEMA hosts the R&D EXTASIS project, aiming at detecting the low-frequency signal (below 9 MHz) produced at the sudden disappearance of the air shower particles hitting the ground. All these antenna arrays present different antenna density and extent, and can be operated in a joint mode to record simultaneously the radio signal coming from an air shower. Therefore, the Nançay facilities may offer a complete description of the air shower induced electric field at small, medium and large scale, and over an unique and very wide frequency band (from ~2 to 250 MHz). The use of multi-band detectors combined with sophisticated composite trigger algorithms could help boosting the radio detection technique as a candidate for a further very large cosmic ray observatory. We will describe the current instrumental set-up and the last science results that have been obtained, together with the prospective developments of the radio detection technique.

Primary author

Mr Richard Dallier (SUBATECH, Nantes / Radio Observatory of Nançay)


Mr Alain Lecacheux (LESIA - Observatoire de Paris) Benoît Revenu (SUBATECH, Nantes) Mr Didier Charrier (SUBATECH, Nantes) Florian Gaté (SUBATECH, Nantes) Mr Laurent Denis (Radio Observatory of Nançay) Lilian Martin (SUBATECH, Nantes / Radio Observatory of Nançay)

Presentation Materials