7-10 June 2016
Groningen, Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

A Study of radio frequency spectrum emitted by high energy air showers with LOFAR

7 Jun 2016, 09:50
Groningen, Netherlands

Groningen, Netherlands

Hampshire Plaza Hotel


Dr Laura Rossetto (Radboud University Nijmegen)


The LOw Frequency ARay (LOFAR) is a multipurpose radio antenna array aimed to detect radio signals in the frequency range 10-240 MHz, covering a large surface in Northern Europe with a higher density in Northern Netherlands. The high number density of radio antennas at the LOFAR core in Northern Netherlands allows to detect radio signals emitted by cosmic ray induced air showers, and to characterize the geometry of the observed cascade in a detailed way.
A study of several geometrical parameters of radio signals emitted by extensive air showers propagating in the atmosphere, and their correlation with the observed radio frequency spectrum in the 30-70 MHz regime is here presented.
In order to find the best parameters which describe the correlation between primary cosmic ray information and the emitted radio signal, a cross-check between real data and simulations has been done. Regarding real data, cosmic ray radio signals detected by LOFAR since 2011 have been analysed. For the simulation of radio signals, the CoREAS code, a plug-in of the CORSIKA particle simulation code, has been used.
Preliminary results on how the frequency spectrum changes as function of distance to the shower axis, and as function of primary particles mass composition are shown.
The final aim of this study is to find a method to infer information of primary cosmic rays in an independent way from the well-established fluorescence and surface detector techniques, in view of affirming the radio detection technique as reliable method for the study of high energy cosmic rays.

Primary author

Dr Laura Rossetto (Radboud University Nijmegen)


Dr Anna Nelles (University of California Irvine) Antonio Bonardi (IMAPP - Radboud University Nijmegen) Arthur Corstanje (Radboud University Nijmegen) Gia Trinh (KVI-CART, University of Groningen) Prof. Heino Falcke (Radboud University Nijmegen/ASTRON/Nikhef) Mr J. Emilio Enriquez (Radboud University Nijmegen) Jörg Hörandel (Ru Nijmegen/Nikhef) Jörg Paul Rachen (IMAPP / Radboud University Nijmegen) Katie Mulrey (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) Olaf Scholten (KVI-CART, Univ. of Groningen) Pim Schellart (R) Ms Pragati Mitra (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB)) Sander ter Veen (ASTRON) Satyendra Thoudam (Radboud University) Stijn Buitink (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB)) Dr Tobias Winchen (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Presentation Materials