7-10 June 2016
Groningen, Netherlands
Europe/Amsterdam timezone

Search for Cosmic Ray real-time identification with Radio antennas

7 Jun 2016, 14:30
Groningen, Netherlands

Groningen, Netherlands

Hampshire Plaza Hotel


Antonio Bonardi (IMAPP - Radboud University Nijmegen)


Cosmic rays entering the Earth's atmosphere will produce Extensive Air Showers, which emit a radio signal in the 10-200 MHz frequency region through Geo-synchrotron and Askaryan emission.
In the last years the Radio detection technique for observing Cosmic rays made huge developments. It has been recently proven that, by using the Radio footprint at the ground-level, the primary particle properties (arrival direction, energy, mass composition) can be reconstructed with an accuracy comparable to the current experiments. Moreover, the Radio detection technique has a very high duty cycle and shows a substantial reduction in construction and operational costs.
At the present time, one of the biggest challenges for assessing the Radio detection as a valuable technique for Cosmic-ray observation is to identify on real-time the very fast (less than 100 ns) radio signals over the background noise. As consequence, the detection of Extensive Air Showers with standard particle detectors is usually used as trigger for the Radio data acquisition. Anyhow, this procedure limits strongly the efficiency and exploitability of Cosmic-ray Radio detection technique.
In this work, we will present the latest updates on the real-time identification of the Radio signal from Extensive Air Showers by using the data from LOFAR Low Band Antenna stations, which are sensitive in the 30-80 MHz region.

Primary author

Antonio Bonardi (IMAPP - Radboud University Nijmegen)


Dr Anna Nelles (University of California Irvine) Arthur Corstanje (Radboud University Nijmegen) Gia Trinh (KVI-CART, University of Groningen) Prof. Heino Falcke (Radboud University Nijmegen - Astron - Nikhef) Mr J. Emilio Enriquez (Radboud University Nijmegen) Jörg Hörandel (Ru Nijmegen/Nikhef) Jörg Paul Rachen (IMAPP / Radboud University Nijmegen) Katie Mulrey (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) Dr Laura Rossetto (Radboud University Nijmegen) Olaf Scholten (KVI-CART, Univ. of Groningen) Pim Schellart (R) Ms Pragati Mitra (Vrie Universiteit Brussel (VUB)) Sander ter Veen (ASTRON) Satyendra Thoudam (Radboud University) Stijn Buitink (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB)) Dr Tobias Winchen (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Presentation Materials