Sep 6 – 9, 2016
National Graphene Institute
Europe/London timezone

Speakers' Biographies

Prof. Sir Kostya Novoselov 

Prof Sir Kostya Novoselov FRS is best known for isolating graphene at The University of Manchester in 2004, and is an expert in condensed matter physics, mesoscopic physics and nanotechnology. He was awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Physics for his achievements with graphene. Kostya holds positions of Langworthy Professor of Physics and the Royal Society Research Professor at The University of Manchester. He graduated from the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, and undertook his PhD studies at the University of Nijmegen in the Netherlands before moving to The University of Manchester in 2001. Professor Novoselov has published more than 200 peer-reviewed research papers. He was awarded with numerous prizes, including Nicholas Kurti Prize (2007), International Union of Pure and Applied Science Prize (2008), MIT Technology Review young innovator (2008), Europhysics Prize (2008), Bragg Lecture Prize from the Union of Crystallography (2011), the Kohn Award Lecture (2012), Leverhulme Medal from the Royal Society (2013), Onsager medal (2014) among many others. He was knighted in the UK 2012 New Year Honours for services to science.


Prof. Jonathan Billowes

He is Head of the Nuclear Physics Group in the School of Physics & Astronomy. He was the first Director of Education in the Dalton Nuclear Institute. He came to Manchester in 1986 following post-doctoral research at Oxford University and the State University of New York at Stony Brook. His research interests are in laser spectroscopy of radioactive atoms. This work is carried out the University of Jyvaskyla, Finland and at the ISOLDE facility, CERN, Geneva. He is course director for the MSc in Nuclear Science and Technology which is run by the UK university consortium, NTEC and serves on the Management Board of the university consortium delivering the Nuclear Engineering Doctorate programme.


Dr. Kieran Flanagan

Dr Kieran Flanagan is a Reader of Physics within the Nuclear Physics Group in the School of Physics and Astronomy at The University of Manchester, where he is also Group Admissions Tutor. After graduating from The University of Manchester he undertook his PhD studies with Prof. Jon Billowes and carried out experiments in laser spectroscopy at the University of Jyvaskyla, Finland.  After his PhD he moved to CERN and worked for KU Leuven on laser spectroscopy and beta-NMR and then moved to Paris to work at IPN-Orsay. He was awarded an STFC Advanced Fellowship in 2009 and re-joined The University of Manchester. In 2015 he was awarded an ERC consolidator grant on the subject of fundamental nuclear properties measured with laser spectroscopy. He has worked at CERN for more than 10 years developing new laser spectroscopy techniques to study exotic nuclei. His research has focused on size and shapes of nuclei and the underlying forces that bind the nucleus together.