Advances in Radiation-Hard Monolithic Pixel Detectors

Watson LT B (School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Birmingham)

Watson LT B

School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Birmingham

Philip Patrick Allport (University of Birmingham (UK)) , Daniela Bortoletto (University of Oxford (GB)) , Laura Gonella (University of Birmingham (UK)) , Peter.G Jones (School of Physics and Astronomy-University of Birmingham) , Joost Vossebeld (University of Liverpool (GB)) , Nigel Watson (University of Birmingham (GB)) , Fergus Wilson (STFC - Rutherford Appleton Lab. (GB)) , Steven Worm (University of Birmingham)

IoP HEPP Committee Half-Day Meeting on Development of Depleted Monolithic Active Pixel Sensor (DMAPS).  

DMAPS technologies are the subject of intense R&D for use as replacement technologies for current detector systems, and are an attractive choice for many future programmes in particle, nuclear and medical physics.  Monolithic pixels are the subject of a major international research programme to define processing variants which could also deliver the levels of radiation hardness needed at hadron colliders and other high radiation environments, while still meeting strict requirements on material budget, high granularity and overall cost.

Recent progress has been remarkable, and the potential for new technologies to be a complete game-changer not just for vertexing and tracking, but even for high granularity calorimetry makes this a topic of wide interest across the experimental particle and nuclear physics communities. The new UK facilities for hadron radiotherapy provide another fruitful area for applications. All these, and other areas, make this an extremely timely topic for an IoP Half Day Meeting

We are supported by:


  • Akram Khan
  • Ankush Mitra
  • Daniel Muenstermann
  • Daniela Bortoletto
  • Dave Charlton
  • Dima Maneuski
  • Eva Vilella
  • Fergus Wilson
  • Guillermo Nicolas Hamity
  • Iain Sedgwick
  • Ian Dawson
  • Jens Dopke
  • Joel Goldstein
  • John Cotterill
  • John Matheson
  • Joost Vossebeld
  • Katharine Hollinshead
  • Konstantin Stefanov
  • Konstantinos Nikolopoulos
  • Laura Gonella
  • Liejian Chen
  • Lluis Simon Argemi
  • Marcello Borri
  • Marco Gersabeck
  • Mark Richard James Williams
  • Neil Geddes
  • Nigel Allinson
  • Nigel Watson
  • Peter Jones
  • Philip Patrick Allport
  • Richard Hugtenburg
  • Richard Plackett
  • Russell Thomas
  • Sam Flynn
  • Sam Manger
  • Simon Jolly
  • Steven Worm
  • Tony Price
  • Walter Snoeys
  • Yanyan Gao
  • Zhige Zhang