Jul 26 – 30, 2021
US/Eastern timezone

Ken Wilson Award

Since its inception in 2011, the annual Kenneth G. Wilson Award for Excellence in Lattice Field Theory has recognized physicists who have made recent, outstanding contributions to lattice field theory.

The 2021 award committee is

  • Kari Rummukainen (chair, Helsinki)
  • James Zanotti (vice-chair, Adelaide)
  • Zohreh Davoudi (2018 winner, Maryland)
  • Xu Feng (Peking)
  • Marina Marinkovic (Zurich)
  • Martha Constantinou (Temple)
  • Taku Izukuchi (Brookhaven)

More details on the award can be found on its website.

The 2021 award will be presented at this conference and is sponsored by the  Center for Frontiers in Nuclear Science.

Call for nominations for the 


To recognize outstanding contributions in lattice field theory. 

The prize is given annually and will consist of a certificate citing the contributions of the recipient, a modest monetary award, and an invitation to present the cited work in a short plenary talk at the virtual International Symposium on Lattice Field Theory hosted by MIT (July 26-30, 2021). The registration fee for the conference will be waived. 

The award recognizes outstanding physicists who are within seven years of completing their Ph.D. at the time of their initial nomination, plus any career breaks. The research recognized could either be a single piece of work or the sum of several contributions. 

Nominations should consist of a nominating letter, a seconding letter, and up to two supporting letters; the nominee's CV; and a list of (up to 10) relevant publications. The nominating letter should include a proposed citation (one sentence) justifying the award. All letters should explain and justify why the nominee should receive the award. Nominations will be considered for up to three years (if not selected earlier). The Selection Committee encourages nominators and reference letter writers to submit updated information for nominees who will be considered a second and or third time. Nominations of scientists from all nations are solicited. Self-nominations will not be considered. Award recipients are not eligible for a second award. 

First-time nominees for the 2021 award must have received a PhD (or equivalent) after December 31, 2013 (with suitable adjustment in cases with career breaks). As stated above, nominations will be reviewed in the year received and (if not selected) will remain under consideration for up to two additional years. Nominations should be emailed to the Chair of the Selection Committee, Kari Rummukainen (kari.rummukainen@helsinki.fi) before May 15th, 2021.

The subject line of the e-mail must be "KWLA nomination”.