Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

The Tangerine project: Development of high-resolution 65 nm silicon MAPS

Feb 24, 2022, 9:50 AM
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Live Presentation Semiconductor Detectors Semiconductor Detectors


Håkan Wennlöf (DESY)


The Tangerine project aims to develop state-of-the-art high-precision silicon detectors. This contribution is focused on Work Package 1, which has the goal of developing a monolithic active pixel sensor using a novel 65 nm CMOS imaging process, with a small collection electrode. This process is so far unused in particle physics applications, but is of great interest as it allows an increased logic density and decreased power consumption and material budget compared to other processes. It is envisioned to be used in for example the next ALICE inner tracker upgrade, and in experiments at the electron-ion collider.

The initial goal of the three-year Tangerine project is to develop and test a sensor in the 65 nm process that can be used in testbeam telescopes at DESY, providing excellent time resolution and spatial resolution, and thus demonstrating the capabilities of the process.
The project covers all aspects of sensor R&D, from electronics and sensor design using simulations, to prototype test chip characterisation in labs and at testbeams. The sensor design simulations are performed by using a powerful combination of detailed electric field simulations and high-statistics Monte Carlo simulations.
This contribution will present first measurement results of two initial test chips, the current sensor architecture, and sensor design simulation results of the ongoing developments and upcoming sensors.

Primary authors

Ankur Chauhan (DESY) Doris Eckstein (DESY) Ingrid-Maria Gregor (DESY & Bonn University) Karsten Hansen (DESY) Lennart Huth (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Budi Mulyanto (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY) Christian Reckleben (DESY) Adriana Simancas (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Simon Spannagel (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Marcel Stanitzki (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Anastasiia Velyka (DESY) Håkan Wennlöf (DESY)

Presentation materials