Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Induced signals in particle detectors with resistive elements: modelling novel structures

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Recorded Presentation Gaseous Detectors


Djunes Janssens (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (BE))


Novel particle detector structures are proposed regularly, mixing old and new ideas, with resistive detectors widening the landscape of possible configurations. In this talk an accurate and universal way of calculating the signals induced in structures with restive elements using an extended form of the Ramo-Shockley theorem is applied to several detector configurations.

For detector geometries containing resistive materials, the time dependence of the signals is not sully given by the movement of the charges in the drift medium but also by the time-dependent reaction of the resistive materials. With COMSOL Multiphysics, the needed dynamic weighing potentials can be obtained numerically. This, coupled with Garfield++ and a general-purpose circuit simulation program (e.g., SPICE) to describe the front-end electronics, allows for the targeting of a universal simulation toolkit for the microscopic modelling of the signal induction in particle detectors. In this talk, we present the application of these tools to study not only the signals induced in a variety of Micro Pattern Gaseous Detectors (MPGDs) but also for Multigap Resistive Plate Chambers (MRPCs) and solid-state detectors. In addition to deepening the understanding of existing structures, these studies are important for the design and optimization of the next generation of particle detectors and their application to specific needs driven by HEP experiments and other applications.

Primary author

Djunes Janssens (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (BE))


Werner Riegler (CERN) Rob Veenhof (Uludag University (TR)) Miranda Van Stenis (CERN) Heinrich Schindler (CERN) Leszek Ropelewski (CERN) Eraldo Oliveri (CERN) Hans Muller (University of Bonn (DE)) Marta Lisowska (Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay (FR)) Karl Flöthner (HISKP-Uni-Bonn) Jorgen D'Hondt (Vrije Universiteit Brussel (BE)) Florian Maximilian Brunbauer (CERN) Freya Blekman (IIHE, Vrije Universiteit Brussel (BE)) Antonija Utrobicic (CERN) Lucian Scharenberg (CERN, University of Bonn (DE))

Presentation materials