Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

AWAGS: a single ASIC to detect from protons up to uranium ions

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Recorded Presentation Electronics


Dr Elena Rocco (GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH)


The Super-FRS is a second-generation in-flight magnetic separator currently under construction at GSI FAIR in Darmstadt (Germany) that will make isotopic separation event by event up to the uranium element and that will be in operation at the end of 2025. New tracking detectors, as beam diagnostic, are currently under development to cope with the physics requirements of this forefront machine: high radiation level, long term stability, homogeneity and high tracking efficiency. The contribution focuses on the Gas Electron Multiplier (GEM)-based Time Projection Chamber (TPC), specifically on the latest promising Front End Electronics solution currently designed and developed at the GSI. The low noise Amplifier With Adaptive Gain Settings (AWAGS) ASIC is characterised by the large dynamic range (from sub fC up to 80 pC of measured charge), low noise level and stable operation due to his architecture based on the folded cascode coupled with five separated capacitors. The presented results are the ASIC characterisation studies and test results of the Front End Electronics coupled with the GEM TPC detector operating in argon-methane (90/10) gas mixture and using the Front End Board with optical Extension (FEBEX) for the signal digitalisation. Comparison with the previous test beam results performed with the antecedent AWAGS version and outlook of a new full read out chain architecture available in trigger and self-trigger mode with data reduction on chip are also shown.

Primary author

Dr Elena Rocco (GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH)


Bernd Voss (Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH (GSI)) Dr Chiara Nociforo (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fuer Schwerionenforschung GmbH ) Dr Christian J. Schmidt (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fu ̈r Schwerionenforschung GmbH, Darmstadt, Germany) Dr David Chokheli (Joint Insitute for Nuclear Research) Francisco Ignacio Garcia Fuentes (Helsinki Institute of Physics (FI)) Haik Simon (Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung mbH (GSI)) Dr Holger Flemming (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fuer Schwerionenforschung GmbH ) Karagiannis Christos (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fu ̈r Schwerionenforschung GmbH, Darmstadt, Germany) Dr Klaus Götzen (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fuer Schwerionenforschung GmbH ) Martin Winkler (GSI) Minna Luoma (University of Helsinki) Dr Nikolaus Kurz (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fuer Schwerionenforschung GmbH ) Dr Peter Wieczorek (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fu ̈r Schwerionenforschung GmbH ) Dr Sven Löchner (GSI Helmholtzzentrum fuer Schwerionenforschung GmbH ) Tobias Blatz (GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH ) Tuomas Grahn (University of Jyvaskyla (FI))

Presentation materials