Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

Evaluation of the DECAL Fully Depleted monolithic sensor for outer tracking and digital calorimetry

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Recorded Presentation Semiconductor Detectors


Ioannis Kopsalis (University of Birmingham (GB))


The DECAL sensor, a depleted monolithic active pixel sensor (DMAPS), is being developed as a possible technology for future digital calorimeters. For this application, the pixel size is required to be sufficiently small to avoid hit saturation and the number of pixels above threshold are counted to estimate the shower energy. The DECAL and DECAL Fully Depleted sensors have been designed and fabricated in the TowerJazz 180 nm CMOS standard and “modified” imaging process,
respectively. The latter contains modifications to the implants configuration that have demonstrated improved charge collection and radiation hardness, even to the levels required for barrel ECAL regions of FCC-hh (few 10$^{15}$ n$_{eq}$/cm$^2$ ). Both DECAL variants feature a matrix of 64x64 pixels with a pitch of 55 μm read out every 25 ns. For DECAL FD, the logic has been modified to have the in-pixel comparator threshold trim range extended from five to six bits, where the sixth bit is used to de-activate the comparator. The sensors can be reconfigured to function as either a binary short strip sensor, for particle tracking including as a pre-shower, or as a pad sensor, counting the number of pixels above threshold for digital calorimetry. The presentation contains characterisation results for both prototypes, including digital summing logic, analogue pixel performance, threshold scans under laser illumination and testing with radioactive

Primary authors

Ioannis Kopsalis (University of Birmingham (GB)) Philip Patrick Allport (University of Birmingham (UK)) Seddik Benhammadi (STFC) Robert Ross Bosley (University of Birmingham (GB)) Jens Dopke (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB)) Sam Flynn (National Physical Laboratory) Patrick Moriishi Freeman (University of Birmingham (GB)) Laura Gonella (University of Birmingham (UK)) Nicola Carlo Guerrini Konstantinos Nikolopoulos (University of Birmingham (GB)) Peter Phillips (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB)) Tony Price (University of Birmingham (GB)) Iain Sedgwick (STFC) Enrico Giulio Villani (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB)) Matt Warren (University College London) Nigel Watson (University of Birmingham (GB)) Fergus Wilson (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB)) Alasdair Winter (University of Birmingham (GB)) Steven Worm (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DE)) Zhige Zhang (Science and Technology Facilities Council STFC (GB))

Presentation materials