Indico has been updated to v3.3. See our blog post for details on this release. (OTG0146394)

Feb 21 – 25, 2022
Vienna University of Technology
Europe/Vienna timezone

A light tracker based on scintillating fibers with SiPM readout

Not scheduled
Vienna University of Technology

Vienna University of Technology

Gusshausstraße 27-29, 1040 Wien
Recorded Presentation SiPM


Mario Nicola Mazziotta (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT))


We have developed a novel light tracker based on plastic scintillating fiber arrays readout with Silicon Photomultipliers (SiPMs). The tracker consists of multiple planes, with the fibers in each plane oriented perpendicularly to those in the adjacent plane, in order to allow 3D track reconstruction. The fibers in each plane have round cross sections, with a diameter of 500 um, and are arranged in two staggered layers in a close-packed configuration. The fibers are readout by means of SiPM arrays with a 250 um strip pitch placed at one of their ends.

Scintillating fibers allow a reduced material budget while providing a good spatial resolution and a fast response. This design is therefore suitable to track low-energy particles, such as the lowest energy cosmic rays or the electrons produced in Compton scatterings of gamma rays with energies down to 100 keV.

We have built a detector prototype, equipped with Hamamatsu 128-channel SiPM arrays, readout with 32-channel PETIROC2A front-end ASICs. These ASICs are controlled by a custom data acquisition system board equipped with Xilinx Kintex-7 FPGA with self-triggering capabilities. The prototype has been tested with particle beams, cosmic rays and radioactive sources. The tracker design will be presented and performance of the prototype will be discussed.

Primary author

Mario Nicola Mazziotta (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT))


Corrado Altomare (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Dr Salvatore De Gaetano (INFN Bari) Giuseppe De Robertis (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Leonardo Di Venere (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Fabio Gargano (Univ. + INFN) Francesco Giordano (INFN) Francesco Licciulli (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Francesco Loparco (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Serena Loporchio (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Francesca Romana Pantaleo (INFN - National Institute for Nuclear Physics) Cosimo Pastore (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT)) Dr Roberta Pillera (INFN Bari) Davide Serini (Universita e INFN, Bari (IT))

Presentation materials